We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Case Restaurant with Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Case Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #1 of 16 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Visited The Case on Friday evening with a Groupon Voucher, after the last restaurant I was a bit aprehensive to say the least. However as soon as we entered the restaurant we were greeted and shown seats. The staff got out drinks we ordered whilst we chose our meal. The staff are very polite and attentive. The fresh bread buns were lovely whilst we waited for our starters. I had Tiger prawns in a crepe and my husband had the Scotch egg, neither could be faulted. For mains i had the Pork with Chorizo sausage which was very tender and tasty and my husband had the Trio of Lamb. It was really nice and well presented. Unfortunately neither of us could fit a pudding in, but the cappucino's were good as wel. Thank you would definately visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    50
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
210
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Went for an evening meal, the starters were really lovely I had duck in Filo pastry and partner had Brie. For main course I went for game pie which was huge and really tasty, partners steak was cooked perfectly. The cheesecake and ice cream to follow could also not be faulted. Service was faultless and everyone was really welcoming. The only thing that did cause a few problems were the chairs as they were uncomfortable but this would not stop us returning.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having stayed at The Case last night we felt we had to put a review on as soon as possible to let others know you simply have to go and stay here. Our stay started with a very warm welcome which set the tone for a lovely stay. The rooms are really nice, very clean and with everything you could need for your stay including fresh milk and homemade biscuits. The honesty box filled with chocolate and goodies is a nice touch too although we were too full after eating in the restaurant. When we went to the restaurant for our evening meal we once again experienced top class service and friendly staff who really did want to do everything they could to make your evening special, the food certainly did not dissapoint either from starter to dessert the whole meal was fantastic. Breakfast in the morning was of an equally high standard with fresh juice and a good choice food. We both had the Full English with poached eggs cooked to perfection. We found this little gem on travelzoo so actually got a great deal but we will return in the future and happily pay the regular price here, its worth it. Thanks again to all the staff at The Case hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayleigh_Trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My partner and I were given a meal, overnight stay and breakfast at the Case for Christmas. It was booked through travel zoo. The room was lovely, and really cosy for a chilly February day. Linda greeted us and was extremely friendly and attentive. The room had some nice little extras such as fresh milk and artisan cookies which we appreciated. Dinner was delicious all made from scratch with fresh local ingredients and the house white that came was also lovely. We chose the full English for breakfast and were not disappointed - it was huge and varied washed down with a big pot of tea and juice. The building is decorated in a light and modern manner and our room was spotless. We would recommend this highly. We were told that they aren't running the travel zoo deal at the moment but do a similar one themselves if you contact them direct. Really nice and not far from lavenham, Woodbridge and flatford mill. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickenlady38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, the room was very comfortable and clean, with a very beautiful bathroom and brilliant provisions including freshly baked cookies. The food was phenomenal. All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Recent reviews criticising the owner are very unfair and also typical of how this country is going, you're offended by the simplist little thing and need to 'man up' a bit. If someone in their 60's call you love when serving you this is a warm hearted gesture.

My wife and I have have just returned from a lovely nights stay at the Case, dinner and breakfast were fantastic with warm service to match from Linda and a pleasant conversation with the chef (Barry) afterwards.

Would we go back?

Definitely!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewHolUpminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kersey, Ipswich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I returned to The Case Restaurant last night, along with a party of 6 persons, for a special night out. Once again, we were not disappointed. We had a warm welcome, and excellent meal, and it was agreed by all, that it was a very enjoyable and relaxed evening. We arrived at 7.30 and left at nearly 11.30, and at no time were rushed or hassled. Linda and Barry and all the girls, thank you once again.

Room Tip: I have never stayed at The Case, but have seen the rooms, which are clean and comfortable. I would n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redronnie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
3.9 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
6.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
2.9 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Country House
The Old Rectory Country House
#1 of 1 in Great Waldingfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Case Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Case Restaurant with Rooms

Property: The Case Restaurant with Rooms
Address: Further Street | Assington, Babergh District CO10 5LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Case Restaurant with Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restaurant with rooms where personal service and customer satisfaction is all important. Situated in rural Suffolk with views over ajoining farmland we offer luxurious well presented rooms with many included extras alongside our, twenty year established restaurant, serving traditional and imaganitive dishes. A family business where little things mean a lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Case Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Case Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Sudbury
The Case Restaurant With Rooms Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing