We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Black Boy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at the Black Boy last night. We were attending a wedding in the area, and picked the Black Boy for its location.
The lady who checked us in was friendly and efficient and quickly sorted us out with cabs for a journey to the venue and our return.

The room was clean, simple and suited our needs. However the lack of a wardrobe and the rooms small size would have been issues if we had stayed longer.

Bathroom was clean, could have done with a little tlc.........flacking paint on the ceiling, and peeling paper above the shower...........but lots of hot water and nice towels.

A standard range of cold breakfast foods was on offer, and good quality hot food was cooked to order.

If we were to need to stay in the are again we would certainly return,.........its a hotel ideal for a one or two night stay.........

Hope this is useful

Room Tip: we were in room 6
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanandcolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for The Black Boy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 109 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

Good food, the room was quite basic but the bed was comfortable. The stairs to the rooms are quite narrow & steep not an issue for us but could imagine it could be a little tricky fir some. If you're not familiar with the area the car park is a little tricky to find but certainly an added bonus. The hotel is located in a great central location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EEE001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Recently stayed here while attending a wedding in the area the staff were very helpful friendly and welcoming i felt more like i was staying at a family members hous than a hotel the rooms were very clean and had everything i needed ensuite tea facilitys tv and free wifi my sister had booked a superour room and it was huge really enjoyed the full english (or whatever you preferred) breakfast would happily stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gizmo_1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lovely welcome and lovely staff. Fantastic location only problem finding the carp ark and one way system. Very central location and breakfast was excellent. Highly recommend will be returning soon and would not hesitate to recommend

Room Tip: Fantastic location and very nice rooms. Even had a spare room if needed!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I had lunch at the Black Boy today and found a big improvement. The restaurant has been decorated and refurbished and our lunch was well cooked and presented. There was a nice atmosphere and I shall definitely return and try the Sunday roast again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isturner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have stayed at the Black Boy a couple of times recently, the room was immaculate and the check in process simple. The central location is an added bonus. The pub is also popular, the restaurant serves a wide choice of pub food. They have recently added Sky Sports to the front bar.

The rear car park is small (about 8 spaces) and full on both occasions I tried parking, therefore it cannot be relied on, there are plenty of other parking options close by though.

The only negatives, there was no chair in the room. I assume this applies to all the rooms, even in a cheap and cheerful Travelodge a basic chair is provided. If one wants to watch TV you must lie on the bed or sit on the floor!

I feel that a 10pm checkout (seems pretty strictly enforced) is too early, especially at weekends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid street noise.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Observer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed for one night with my husband as were attending a family wedding 2 miles down the road. Parking a bit weird - you have go round the back of the inn via a one way system and it's a bit confusing. Also, the hotel is not clearly marked from the front, we had to walk through the main pub. Service was good though and they willingly organised us a taxi to the venue and gave us cards to call one for the way back.

The room was small but clean and decorated nicely and the bathroom was spacious and clean. Tea and coffee making facilities and a little flat screen TV on the wall (we didn't use it).

They give you keys to let yourself in through a main door to the pub if you are back late, then another that leads up to the rooms so all secure.

Would stay here again although at £85 for one night with breakfast is possibly a bit overpriced when essentially, it's a pokey room in a pub.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter as some over look the main street. We stayed on a Saturd...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
0.3 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,147 reviews
5.6 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
2.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
529 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#9 of 15 in Sudbury
54 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Country House
The Old Rectory Country House
#1 of 1 in Great Waldingfield
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Boy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Boy Hotel

Address: 7 Market Hill, Babergh District CO10 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range: $102 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Boy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy is situated in the heart of Sudbury overlooking the market square with easy access to the surrounding countryside. With it's seven en-suite letting rooms it is the perfect place for either a weekend retreat or a relaxing mid week stay; dog friendly rooms are available with prior arrangement. Serving the finest in traditional ales and a selection of craft beers alongside a fantastic, handpicked, wine and spirit range. The Black Boy has a classic, locally sourced English tavern menu with something for everyone. Come and stay and let our friendly team look after you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Black Boy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Boy Hotel Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing