We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Black Boy Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Sudbury B&B and Inns
essex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed overnight.for our aniversary. The room was a superior, it was big and so.clean. we recieved a really warm welcome everyone was so helpful. We had dinner which was such good value for money, really well presented and above all tasty.
I would recommend this hotel.
I have a couple of.things which did dissapoint one was the plastic cover on the bed which on a hot.night was a tad uncknfortable and the other is it would have been nice to have big bath sheets and a little more in the way of toiletries especially as it was classed as a superior room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    37
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
22
43
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frinton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night,as we were going to a nearby wedding reception. On arrival we were greeted in a very friendly way, our room was clean the shower was powerful, breakfast was delicious and the service was excellent, big thumbs up :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Happened to be visiting Sudbury and 3 of us wanted to stop somewhere for a cup of tea. Noticed a sign outside this Hotel stating: 'Tea & Cake, £3.50', so in we went.
Very friendly, seated & served almost immediately. Pleasant enough place, which was reasonably busy. Two pots of tea and a plate of cakes later, we paid a friendly hostess and left feeling most refreshed. No hassle here, clean enough in the bar area & loos.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham W.SX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just got back from a very enjoyable stay at the Black Boy.
It has been totally refurbished,room 3 was immaculate and spacious
Staff were extremely friendly and Sharon and young Kate in particular.
Food was well cooked, and presented, pub fare.
Locals quite chatty and friendly,say hallo and smile they don't bite!
All in all a great 3 days

Room Tip: room 3 is huge , it overlooks the main street , not that noisy though
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HorshamW_SXGrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night as going to a party. Very clean room, really nice owner and a really great breakfast all for a good price. My only gripe would be that the curtains need to be blackout style as you can get no real darkness in the room which we had as it is right by the road. A minor complaint though for an otherwise very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff, couldn't do enough for us; good advice about cabs etc in the area as we were there for a wedding. Cracking full English breakfast, situated very centrally, right by the twice-weekly market. Recommended.

Room Tip: Shouldn't be much noise wherever you are - Sudbury is a quiet, attractive place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Bit soulless when I arrived, about 4 people in bar. Room was fine, small and fairly basic but worth the £55 I paid with breakfast.
I was a bit concerned that food was not being served but there was a Pizza Express opposite.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyH263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
0.3 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,083 reviews
5.6 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
3.3 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
504 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
124 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Country House
The Old Rectory Country House
#1 of 1 in Great Waldingfield
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Boy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Boy Hotel

Property: The Black Boy Hotel
Address: 7 Market Hill, Babergh District CO10 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Boy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy is situated in the heart of Sudbury overlooking the market square with easy access to the surrounding countryside. With it's seven en-suite letting rooms it is the perfect place for either a weekend retreat or a relaxing mid week stay; dog friendly rooms are available with prior arrangement. Serving the finest in traditional ales and a selection of craft beers alongside a fantastic, handpicked, wine and spirit range. The Black Boy has a classic, locally sourced English tavern menu with something for everyone. Come and stay and let our friendly team look after you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Black Boy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Boy Hotel Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing