We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous meal, superb atmosphere, excellent experience”
Review of The Wine Bar - CLOSED

The Wine Bar
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We open only on friday evenings providing live music and good food - from 7pm. It is advisable to phone for a reservation
Sudbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous meal, superb atmosphere, excellent experience”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This restaurant has the best atmosphere ever. One always has such a good welcome whether you were there a week ago or a year ago. Cannot fault the food. Had the rack of lamp this evening and was just melt in the mouth. Staff really great - everything really great. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    11
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware the Panna Cotta”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Sometime, just sometimes, an excellent trip advisor rating does not guarantee a 5 star meal. Maybe Saturday lunchtime is different, and we were unlucky. Some parts of the main meal were fine, and it was reasonably priced, but there were many short-comings. The burger was okay, but missing the promised reblochon cheese, and a salad should be more than some leaves of rocket, garnished with more than a little grit. Meanwhile, the first lemon and ginger Panna Cotta was frozen stiff, and when a less chilled one arrived, it was missing a few ingredients, such as sugar, lemon and ginger. I can still taste the mouthful I ate now, six hours on.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Visionary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Owner at The Wine Bar, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Embarrasing to say the least, a young trainee chef who has performed very well in the past but on this occasion let himself and the team down. I can only apologise profusely and hope that sometime in the futue you will risk another visit.
Best wishes David Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Large Party”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Admittedly we had pre-booked a table of 10, with the menu pre-ordered. But what a feast, a medly of seafood, the scallops freshly cooked with lashings of Oysters and King Prawns, the Home made garlic and Coriander dressing brilliant; for a change a couple of had this with a dry Cider instead of wine and it complimented it very well. A most excellant steak, properly cooked, just a formal introduction to the pan and away again. But to finish off, David produced a selection of Chesse, delicious. Wonderful red wines and a great port. Finished off with a great coffee, excellant service and well looked after all round. Thank you David, please stay with this forever, you and the bistro are one and the same !!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony_lyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“"A guaranteed wonderful evening"”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you are ever in the pretty market town of Sudbury Suffolk, you simply must visit Thompsons Bistro.
The atmosphere is relaxed and so friendly, and David & Trish always go out of their way to make everyone feel special. Then there is the food....what can I say..
The tapas is as good if not better then we have on our holidays in Spain. Last night I was lucky to be taken there last minute by my husband, I chose the pan fried lemon sole, with brown shrimp and capers, it was exquisite, better than the meal that I paid a fortune for in Mayfair the day before. The fish so fresh, and cooked to perfection.
So if you want a real treat, at very reasonable prices, please pay a visit to Suffolk's little hidden gems!!!! and also two of the loveliest people you could meet!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pablo090710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Thompsons bistro, wine bar, deli cafe all in one”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Thompsons, previously called the Salt House, was originally Danny's Bar owned by Danny the eldest son of the Thompsons family who tragically passed away some years ago.
David and Patricia Thompson converted it into a wine and tapas bar and it has gone through a number of changes over the last few years - for the better I must say.

Located in the centre of Sudbury market town it welcomes a variety of clientele and is almost like a members club where one is always welcome, men or women alike, by yourself or with family or friends.

Recently converted into two different eateries, the Deli-Cafe serves superb coffee and a variety of teas, home made cakes, sandwiches and eggs or cheese platters. The ham and Parma ham is first class and the cheese selection the best in town. The owner travels to France regularly and brings it all from there to sell in the deli and also to serve at his renown "Cheese and Wine tasting nights".
I am biased because I was brought up in France and can buy at Thompsons all the French little jars of mustard, cassoulet, choucroute etc - you name it, they have got it.
The deli-cafe doesn't cater for young children, it is designed for grown ups and more mature people to enjoy good coffee and food while reading the papers.

The other side of Thompsons is a small bar and restaurant with sitting outside, freshly prepared food of excellent quality and also an excellent choice of wines and bottled beers. In this era of champagne and cocktail drinkers, Thompsons can deliver at reasonable prices.

The restaurant food has changed a few times, they have tried to revert to a tapas bar with only the famous fillet steak as a main course, but customers seem to prefer a full menu that includes fish and sea food.

At present, Thompsons offer the best combination menu, lunch time small menu with fish of the day and home made burgers and dinner with delicious tapas and main course specials. Try the seafood linguine Or the famous fillet steak.
Oysters are also a trademark of the house and I am told they are the best.

The service can be slow, but the staff is professional but friendly and makes you feel most welcome.

I visited yesterday on my own, I knew from their Internet mail out that there was lemon sole on specials so I booked and had the most delicious pan fried lemon sole with brown shrimps and capers butter sauce, sauté potatoes (real ones, not fried) and french beans.
The bread was very good and so were the olives,
The fried chourico from the tapas menu, tender and tasty, and that is not easy to cook.
To finish with I joined some friends who were having the cheese and wine tasting and enjoyed a superb selection of French cheese with a variety of wines to suit.

It sounds like a very simple meal, just chourico, pan fried fish and cheese, but Ashley the Chef made it so special that I will have to add last night to my list of " Meals to remember".

If you live locally or are in the area give Thompsons a try - it is worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfasuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Bar also viewed

Sudbury, Babergh District
Sudbury, Babergh District
 
Sudbury, Babergh District
Sudbury, Babergh District
 
Sudbury, Babergh District
Sudbury, Babergh District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing