We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good lunch”
Review of The Secret Garden

The Secret Garden
Ranked #4 of 93 Restaurants in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This establishment operates as a tea room Monday to Saturday during the daytime, and offers an evening restaurant service on Friday and Saturday evenings.
1 review
“Really good lunch”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I went for lunch whilst we were in town. We'd not been before and had always meant to try it! So glad we did!

The food was really good. Fresh and delicious. I had the crayfish and avocado salad and the dressing was to die for. My wife had the goats cheese, which was also excellent. Afterwards we were tempted by the raspberry tart, which was a phenomenon.
The service was relaxed and the atmosphere was responsive to this. The whole place is cute, and I will be back with friends and family, and actively promoting it to anyone who will listen!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesFranklin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    62
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb French food”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Excellent in expensive meal in pleasant surroundings. Eclectic menu well cooked and presented. Went for lunch and think dinner would be even better. Very enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindacapet2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More than a secret garden”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A really charming tea rooms with a relaxing 'touch of France' atmosphere, fine food from the menu or daily specials, an extensive range of teas and friendly staff. Plus you can get French lessons, try a wine tasting or learn to draw. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Barnsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A little bit of France in Sudbury”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a firm family favourite and we can see why. We ate here twice during our stay in Suffolk. First visit: for a large family lunch get together/celebration [14] on a Saturday. We were so well looked after at what must have been a very busy time/day for the owners. Food was delicious. Not sure how the chef managed to cook so many fillets of fish all at the same time and all perfectly cooked but he did!!
Second visit: during the week we returned for lunch. It was busy and well patronised. The wait staff were very friendly and welcoming and were happy to adapt the dish to gluten free where possible. Lunch started off with a delicious charcuterie, Mains: Haddock, green beans, potatoes– cooked in a French way and delicious, (this description sounds boring but it wasn’t!) Desert: Crème caramel with orange blossom syrup, raspberry meringue cake, which was sublime! Took home GF lemon cake – also delicious
Close your eyes and for an hour you will be back in a French bistro!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSK085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Delightful restaurant”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had dinner last week what a lovely place, unpretentious with very good local produce, high quality try it for lunch or dinner don't be put off by the Tea room sign believe me it's a smashing restaurant

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Secret Garden also viewed

Sudbury, Babergh District
Sudbury, Babergh District
 
Sudbury, Babergh District
Sudbury, Babergh District
 
Sudbury, Babergh District
Sudbury, Babergh District
 

Been to The Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing