We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“V pretty location”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“V pretty location”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Mid week stay. Hotel sits on the river and has lovely views. Location to the town is ok. ..about a 5-10 minute walk.
Room was fine, small but ok and with all that you would need. Hotel it's self could do with a little tlc and a hoover running through the corridors.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    392
    184
    104
    52
See reviews for
163
629
16
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Despite informing the hotel of my requirements (wheelchair), no preparation was made and booking in was embarrassing and long winded. We were kept waiting outside in the cold, while staff searched for a missing ramp. We eventually found our room which was impossibly small and not able to let me move round or get to the bathroom. We tried to eat in the restaurant for the evening, as we were celebrating my birthday and anniversary, but found that the choices were so restricted (3 starters, 3 mains and 2 sweets) that we braved the elements and dined elsewhere.

The views were superb and waking to look out over the river and to see the sun shining raised our spirits, only to be dashed again when we were served with a cold English breakfast. The bacon, sausages and eggs were all cooked, but stone cold! We left hastily, never intending to return, unless Legacy get their act together, it just seems such a shame such a beautiful imposing building but disappointing service and standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed for one night with my wife in a superior double room overlooking the meadows. Apparently these rooms are bigger than the basic rooms but was not sure what ( apart from room size) made this a superior room. This is a 4 star hotel but did not provide a shower cap. Was I expecting too much to expect a flannel? My wife was hoping for a dressing gown. We finally found the hairdryer in what looked like a shoe bag hanging in the 'wardrobe' space. I say 'space' because there were no wardrobe doors.

Reception advised us that 3 floors, including the kitchen were being refurbished. Due to various doors being open it mean't that the lobby was very cold.

Really liked the bar, the fire and the view. Staff were very friendly.
Due to the refurb did not attempt to eat at the hotel but would like to visit when all the work is completed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jontytiger2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The hotel is situated next to a water meadow, and with the current heavy rain, we were afforded an excellent view. The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. As the kitchen is being refurbished, the chef has to work out of very cramped conditions, but still managed to produce excellent food. Sudbury is a pleasant town and an excellent location for exploring south Suffolk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annfzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We spent two very pleasant nights at the Legacy Mill in Sudbury. The room was very comfortable although a little on the small side. The view over the river and water meadows was really lovely and, because of the location, the hotel was very quiet. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olwen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very disappointed as our stay was for my birthday and our anniversary. We chose The Mill for its ambiance, food choices and service. We booked and checked our food choices by phone and were not told there was a temporary restaurant due to refurbishment. On previous visits we ate in the bar, our only choice this visit was a very limited menu in a temporary restaurant which was so cold that we had to wear our coats whilst eating. There was no food being served in the bar. We discussed this with the staff and management to no avail. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights and I very much enjoyed my stay. All the staff I came in contact with were very helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the service was excellent. The surroundings of the hotel are beautiful and the location is perfect for exploring Sudbury and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dreya28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
5.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
18.6 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
20.7 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
508 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,162 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Walnut Tree Lane, Babergh District CO10 1BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Mill Riverside
Mill Hotel Sudbury
Mill Sudbury
The Mill Hotel Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing