We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would give it another try when refurbished.”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed for one night with my wife in a superior double room overlooking the meadows. Apparently these rooms are bigger than the basic rooms but was not sure what ( apart from room size) made this a superior room. This is a 4 star hotel but did not provide a shower cap. Was I expecting too much to expect a flannel? My wife was hoping for a dressing gown. We finally found the hairdryer in what looked like a shoe bag hanging in the 'wardrobe' space. I say 'space' because there were no wardrobe doors.

Reception advised us that 3 floors, including the kitchen were being refurbished. Due to various doors being open it mean't that the lobby was very cold.

Really liked the bar, the fire and the view. Staff were very friendly.
Due to the refurb did not attempt to eat at the hotel but would like to visit when all the work is completed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jontytiger2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

879 - 885 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

The hotel is situated next to a water meadow, and with the current heavy rain, we were afforded an excellent view. The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. As the kitchen is being refurbished, the chef has to work out of very cramped conditions, but still managed to produce excellent food. Sudbury is a pleasant town and an excellent location for exploring south Suffolk.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annfzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We spent two very pleasant nights at the Legacy Mill in Sudbury. The room was very comfortable although a little on the small side. The view over the river and water meadows was really lovely and, because of the location, the hotel was very quiet. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olwen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very disappointed as our stay was for my birthday and our anniversary. We chose The Mill for its ambiance, food choices and service. We booked and checked our food choices by phone and were not told there was a temporary restaurant due to refurbishment. On previous visits we ate in the bar, our only choice this visit was a very limited menu in a temporary restaurant which was so cold that we had to wear our coats whilst eating. There was no food being served in the bar. We discussed this with the staff and management to no avail. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights and I very much enjoyed my stay. All the staff I came in contact with were very helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the service was excellent. The surroundings of the hotel are beautiful and the location is perfect for exploring Sudbury and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dreya28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at the Legacy Mill Hotel in Sudbury and took time to visit our family. As the hotel was undergoing refurbishment the meals were being served on the first floor but as my wife had a recent operation on her foot was unable to negotiate the stairs. However the staff let us use the ground floor restaurant and served us meals there. The staff could not have been more professional and helpful. Also, the downstairs room had been refurbished and was lovely. The meals were great. We are looking forward to going back some time soon.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are best if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seemsok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

'A 2.5%. Administration charge will be applied to all payments made by credit card'

'Due to kitchen being refurbished we are unable to serve food....'

Outrageous!

Poor Wi-Fi

I've visited the Mill Hotel many times and seen many changes. This is one change I do not like.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank blackcountryvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
5.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
18.6 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,270 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,073 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Walnut Tree Lane, Babergh District CO10 1BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range: $80 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in breathtaking Suffolk countryside, The Mill Hotel is a beautifully converted water mill situated on the banks of the picturesque River Stour. Originally a working water mill, this converted historic building now boasts a completely refurbished contemporary interior. The merging of the old with the new, together with The Mill's imposing façade and stunning views guarantee a real wow factor for visitors and guests. The hotel is ideally situated for exploring and visiting the many tourist attractions and cultural sites in the area and the rich heritage of East Anglia's beautiful countryside and coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Mill Riverside
Mill Hotel Sudbury
Mill Sudbury
The Mill Hotel Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing