We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great escape!!!”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My fiancé and I needed to escape for a few days and we booked to stay at the mill hotel, Sudbury. When we first arrived we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist called Lorraine. Once we got to our room we were speechless at how beautiful the room was and the views across the river. The roll top bath in the bedroom was a fantastic and romantic bonus for us. We found the bar and again the service was excellent the bar manager was whizzing here there and everywhere keeping guests happy. Later on we booked a table in the restaurant, we have to say the food was fantastic and the waitress who served our table was very polite and attentive. We would like to say a big thank you to all the staff in making our weekend a very enjoyable one we look forward to returning very soon. And a special thanks to Lorraine :-) sally ovens and Michael Mersh xx

Room Tip: The best room is room 101 spacious suite with the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saovens O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

962 - 968 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very friendly efficient staff, extremely good breakfast - a buffet with lots of choice. great views from the bar and some of the rooms. They have some dog-friendly rooms, and it is a superb place to walk a dog. Their special offers are worth taking up - bed, breakfast and evening meal.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding recently, as this was the only place near our venue which cold hold so many of our party.
Despite the hotel getting over 35 room bookings for this wedding they were very un-accommodating to the bridal party and did not seem appreciative of the custom. This began when the 'special wedding rate' that they offered all guests turned out to be more than £30 more than the rates on booking.com etc! When I re-booked and cancelled the 'wedding rate' room, the manageress was very rude.
The room itself was terrible. Mould on the ceilings, cracks in the walls and generally very tired and in need of redecoration.
This would be a two-star room at best.
I did not take advantage of breakfast but was told it was good.
Overall I would not recommend this place, there are far nicer, smaller and better run guest houses or hotels in the area for the price.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank adamr591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for one night as we wanted a mini break away somewhere. The hotel is in a great location right next to the beautiful river and country landscapes. The walk into the town was a very short walk, only around 10 minutes or so. The first impressions of the Mill hotel were impressive as staff were attentive and friendly, even offering us an umbrella when the weather turned rainy. The decor is modern and stylish with some old style features dotted around- there is an exhibit of the old mill itself next to the bar and restaurant. The bedrooms are fairly standard with comfortable beds and facilities. Overall it was a brilliant stay and we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwil4989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business for one night. First impressions were great as are the communal and reception areas. I was on the 3rd floor (no lift), so good exercise with your suitcase! Room was adequate but up in the eaves and so hot, uncomfortably so. Biggest let down was the shower. Luke warm at best and absolutely no power (room 31). Restaurant food was good with one waiter doing absolutely everythjng meaning service was slow. Nice cosy bar, receptionist looked like she didn't want to bd there. All in all, good food, nice ground floor but don't spend anytime in your room.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastbourneFamilyFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the The Mill a few weeks ago, and both my partner and I had a lovely time. The food in the restauant was wonderful and the service good. The bar area overlooking the meadow is a lovely spot to have a drink and relax. For us, the main draw of this hotel is the staff, they were so friendly and made us feel very welcome. Sometimes, the staff did look rather frantic (especially at breakfast) but that is more to do with possible lack of actual staff rather than incompetence. The rooms were nice and the parking is free as is the wifi. Will definitely be going back. Well done.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the meadow are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I last stayed here about 15 years ago - before the major refurb. I spotted a deal for a 2 night stay plus dinner, B&B so booked it

My booking did not fail to disappoint. We arrived very late on the Friday evening and managed to get a snack from room service.

The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The shower was a little erratic in that the hose didn't stay put - minor issue

Breakfast was a buffet style, substantial offerings all round. It was very busy but the staff coped well. We went for a very long walk on the trail by the hotel - take your wellies!

We ate in the restaurant that evening, once again it was very busy so we were asked to wait in the bar for a while, not a problem at all

We had a fabulous dinner in the restaurant - the OH had duck and I had venison, both followed by poached pear on a shortbread base. The quality was superb! Absolutely delicious!

Throughout our stay the staff were great, very friendly and you could see great camaraderie between them all

I would highly recommend a stay at the Mill Hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovehols4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
5.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
18.6 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,270 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,073 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Walnut Tree Lane, Babergh District CO10 1BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range: $79 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in breathtaking Suffolk countryside, The Mill Hotel is a beautifully converted water mill situated on the banks of the picturesque River Stour. Originally a working water mill, this converted historic building now boasts a completely refurbished contemporary interior. The merging of the old with the new, together with The Mill's imposing façade and stunning views guarantee a real wow factor for visitors and guests. The hotel is ideally situated for exploring and visiting the many tourist attractions and cultural sites in the area and the rich heritage of East Anglia's beautiful countryside and coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Mill Riverside
Mill Hotel Sudbury
Mill Sudbury
The Mill Hotel Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing