We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly but dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hill Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hill Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly but dated”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Small family run hotel with very friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Facilities fairly basic, the room we stayed in (small double) could have done with a bit of modernisation. Good full english breakfast. Location was ideal as we were attending a party in the adjoined function room and bar.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    11
    4
    11
See reviews for
11
27
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Used Hill Lodge as a base for my daughters Christening at the end of October.

Absolutly fantastic!! Stayed for three nights and I was pleasantly suprised. Having previously managed the Mill Hotel, I looked upon Hill Lodge as competition - and quite rightly so! From start to finish, Irene was great, welcoming and just opened the doors to her house for me and my family.

Had the reception there on Sunday 27th - and again, it was great - smiling team etc.

The bed (I think Room 4).....was too die for! I tried sneaking it outside but got caught!! The breakfast was great.

If you don't want the corporate, standardised experience then go here - the warmth of the family that own this is big enough!!

10* if I could!

Room Tip: Choose room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanW0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I arrived after dark to spend 5 nights on a walking trip, Sudbury being a good centre with strategic bus links. Apart from an illuminated sign on the road frontage, there was little to announce that this was a hotel and first impressions were somewhat underwhelming. It all seemed rather institutional, more like an old people's home than a hotel, with spartan decoration and furnishing. Although the owner was friendly enough on arrival, there was nothing outwardly to indicate "welcome" as I approached across the dominating hardstanding and stepped inside.

In daylight, this establishment was similarly unwelcoming, the building being quite characterless. It really does need a makeover, inside and out.

The room had a double bed but no room for anything else except a wooden chair and tiny bedside cabinets. There was an integral wardrobe and a small en suite wet room. The shower was adequate. Although generally clean, there was grubbiness areas like light switches and the shower handles - a bit jaded. The paper signs on the corridor walls announcing the location of the board room (for breakfast) added to the impression of tiredness.

As I grew more familiar with the place and the couple running it, I felt more comfortable. The slight smell in the room when I arrived (from the wet room I think) quickly went.
I gained the distinct impression that this hotel is aimed principally at the commercial rather than tourist market and this was quite apparent at breakfast, when most other diners were wearing their working clothes. OK for someone staying alone like me but I could see others being disappointed. There was very little tourist information on display, not even a map of Sudbury (except for one on the wall highlighting the town's churches) although the owner kindly found a handy pocket-sized one for me.

Breakfast, in a dated room with a 70s style patterned carpet, was reasonable with a good selection of well-in-date cereals and a decently cooked and presented breakfast, including good scrambled egg.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Good points - very short walking distance from town where you can access all amenities - shops, restaurants, bars ect... toilets & rooms are clean.
Down side - very dated and needs a good refurbishment and general overhaul - not somewhere to stay if you are looking for luxury / relaxation or a holiday longer than a night or so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lish04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hill Lodge is just a short walk from the town centre and has a sizeable car park. Check in was very straight forward, the room was immaculate with all the usual facilities, comfortable bed, wet room and thick curtains which blank out the early morning sun.

The hotel has a decent bar too and large breakfast room.

For late returning revellers there is keypad system to enter, best to enter the code onto a mobile phone before going out.

All in all no complaints at all, friendly owner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Observer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I used this hotel quite a lot ,years ago when jim and anita french owned it , always enjoyed it and the company in the bar at night, the food was great. Does anybody know if linda from norwich still visits the place

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jfp1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashby13
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

i stayed here for 2 nights back in june and tbh it was the worst stay i have ever had. the bed was hard, hairs all over it. very disappointed. breakfast wasnt the greatest either id rather eat at weather spoons and its much cheaper there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sudbury hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,036 reviews
5.4 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
2.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#8 of 16 in Sudbury
51 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country House
The Old Rectory Country House
#1 of 1 in Great Waldingfield
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Lodge Hotel

Property: Hill Lodge Hotel
Address: 8 Newton Road, Babergh District CO10 2RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hill Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hill Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Hotel Sudbury
Hill Lodge Hotel Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing