We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and friendly service”
Review of La Vigne Haute

La Vigne Haute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $43
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Cahors, France
1 review
“Excellent food and friendly service”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have visited this excellent little restaurant on several occasions over the years. It is a firm favourite when in southwest France. The owners, Eric and Olga, are always cheerful and welcoming, and the food is very well prepared and presented. Ambience is friendly, with a mixture of French, English and other nationalities. Together with indoor dining, there is an oudoor garden area, partly under cover, which is a favourite in summer. Both fixed price and a la carte menus offer good choice and value for money, and the duck, barbecued to order by Eric using a converted fireplace, is some of the best available in Lot. The wine list offers a well chosen variety, including very good Cahors wines at reasonable prices. We will eat there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    76
    19
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food and wonderfull service”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

A wonderful find! Me and some friends went to this establishment and enjoyed a superb lunch, complete with friendly service, a lovely garden table, delicious food and an overall good experience. We are very glad to have come upon this hidden treasure! I highly recommend a visit when you are in the area, it is sure not to disappoint!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb Cooking and Great Service”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We've returned again for 2 lunches this year - standards as high as previously. Eric and Olga provide a very friendly and professional dining experience - Food excellent - very high quality and good value for money fixed priced menu du jour. Wine list provides a good selection to choose from to accompany the food on offer. Service is immaculate, timely and totally unfussy - a rare combination nowadays. We ate both as a couple and with children - very enjojable both times. Again, the best meal we've had in France on this holiday.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Souffle heaven”
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Castelfanc is a lovely place and this restaurant fits perfectly in it. We sat outside with a view on a small pond. The menu is extensive with lots of choices, but we came for the souffles and we got them! When the souffle, filled with foie gras, cabecou cheese and duck is placed in front of you, you first wonder if you should have ordered more. The taste is heavenly and its filling as well. We also ordered a souffle for dessert, with grand marnier. Lovely! The owners Eric and Olga are very friendly and relaxed, we can recommand their place to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank Henk s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent, Leisurely Fine Dining”
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We were lucky to find this small, excellent restaurant in the Lot river valley. The weather was perfect to enjoy our dinner outside on the patio. The food was delicious and a good value. The wine list had good choices, concentrating on local vin de Cahors. The owners, Olga and Eric, speak English and a reservation is recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Mkoutzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vigne Haute also viewed

 
Vire-sur-Lot, Lot
 

Been to La Vigne Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing