We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Beauty and Peace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wolverfontein Karoo Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Strand, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Rustic Beauty and Peace”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

On our way to KKNK we spent two nights at The Wolverfontein cottages and what a wonderful experience it was indeed. The hosts were so friendly and fantastic. The cottage had all we could ask for and then some. The Braai under the Klein Karoo star-filled night sky is a thing to remembered. We will definitely be going back as a destination rather than a stop over on the way to somewhere. Thank you so much guys for a truly unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: There are 2 cottages and bot are beautiful and both offering amazing outdoor Braai areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you want that weekend away where you can truly "get away from it all" I would highly recommend Wolverfontein ... to experience the absolute quiet of "Die Klein Karoo" ... to gaze at the endless starry sky with your loved one ... to KNOW your cellphones are useless to you except as glorified cameras (absolutely no signal ... what a bliss!!!) ... to get up early and watch the local wildlife (mice, sheep, donkeys, sunbirds, fruitbirds etc) from the relaxing stoep - AWESOME!!!

The drive through from Cape Town via the famous Route 62 was a pleasure as always (minimal cops) and the pleasure of exploring the two local towns nearby (Ladysmith and Barrydale) to see the local art and the charming locals and their establishments.

To Ashley was fantastic to see you after all these years again (nice to see you still have that fantastic sense of humour) and Andre it was a pleasure to meet you at last. Thank you guys for the wonderful inexpensive stay at your self-catering guesthouse with its beautiful old world charm and decor. Our time was way too short and we hope to return next time for an extended stay.

Your pets (doggies) were most welcomed where we stayed (except for the spiders that my arachnophobic wife kept digging out of their hidey-holes ... but gave me absolutely hours of amusement as she hunted for them ... all three that she found in our three day stay ... hehehehe) ...

Thank you for my mini-holiday/belated honeymoon ...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spotpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, but didn't want to leave. Very quiet, cool in the peak of summer. Beautiful views out the Zara windows. Excellent hosts. Proximity to Touwsberg Private Nature Reserve is a plus for gravel road running and mountain biking. Not a lot to do for the active types, apart from a swim in the farm dam or river, but that's why it's great. It forces you to kick your heels up for some R&R.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Wolverfontein is managed by a friendly and caring couple making our stay enjoyable. The cottage is uniquely and stylish decorated giving it a pleasant atmosphere while all the required implements for self catering are available. The 'stoep' allows one to enjoy the views to the river and over the farm while watching your 'braai' fire. Ample opportunities exist to explore the area on foot. The place really allows one to switch off and enjoy tranquility!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Francois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great experience. I have never tried anything like it. We had fire under the stars at night. This a once in a lifetime experience as it is so different. The hosts are really friendly and they have lovely dogs.
Especially recommended if you need to stay quite, work on a book, write, or simply just want to try something different.
I wished we could have stayed longer.
Please note: credit card not accepted, so you need to pay cash.
A bit out of the way, but that is the whole idea. Go for it!!!'

Room Tip: A bit out of the way, but that is the whole idea. Go for it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirportWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A beautiful spot in the Karoo, with hosts interested in your comfort and relaxation. The cottage is very clean, well decorated, quiet, and spacious. We stayed in the D'Waenhuis for a few days towards the end of December, and would strongly recommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Hats off to Andre and Ashley for preserving this beautiful piece of historical land to the last minute detail, allowing us to not only appreciate the peaceful surrounds, but also to have the privilege of staying in Zara, one of the two painstakingly restored buildings on the deathly quiet and serene Karoo landscape. Truly a magical experience, allowing my partner and I to switch off completely for the two nights we stayed there. Every facility you will need is provided for (bedding, fans, towels, water, electricity, fully stocked kitchen with every appliance under the sun, braai facilities, etc.) and we literally arrived with our food and just settled in like it was home. Had the privilege of being introduced to SpanakopRita, Piglet and May Flower - an equally unforgettable and memorable experience. You will only understand the beauty this place offers when you are sitting next to your loved one, outside on the porch, sipping wine, in the black of night, counting the shooting stars that whizz by you. Perfect for business, couples, family, friends or even solo. We will be back. No doubt.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladismith
0.0 mi away
Karoo View Cottages
Karoo View Cottages
#1 of 10 in Prince Albert
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mymering
Mymering
#1 of 12 in Ladismith
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oaksrest Vineyards Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Koedoeskloof Country Lodge
Koedoeskloof Country Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ladismith
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ladismith Manor
Ladismith Manor
#4 of 12 in Ladismith
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ritorna Me
Ritorna Me
#6 of 10 in Ladismith
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolverfontein Karoo Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolverfontein Karoo Cottages

Property: Wolverfontein Karoo Cottages
Address: Portion 8, Wolverfontein Farm | Portion 8, Wolverfontein Farm, Ladismith 6655, South Africa (Formerly Wolverfontein Farm Cottages)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Ladismith
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ladismith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wolverfontein, nestled at the foot of the Touwsberg Game Reserve on the banks of the Touws River, is conveniently situated just of the popular route 62, between Barrydale and Ladismith. These fully equipped self-catering farm cottages are beautifully restored historical buildings and offer a unique and authentic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Wolverfontein Karoo Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing