We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stop Over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koedoeskloof Country Lodge
Stanford, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stop Over”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A wonderful stop over whilst adventure riding around the gravel passes that surround the area. Friendly hosts made us feel quite at home. Excellent burgers for supper & a breakfast to fill the tank for the day. You could sit at the outside tables & bird watch all day whilst taking in the atmosphere created by all the surrounding imposing mountains. I will definitely be back! Remember to bring a bottle as they are not licensed yet!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanfordRiverLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
25
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Coast
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I spent one night only (sigh!) in this beautiful place.. the hosts are very nice people, and the place and rooms are very clean, furnished in an unusual way. Very good dinner and breakfast.
What to say more? Stopping here is a must!! Thank you Debi and Eugene.
Manuela&Daniele

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Arrived wet and cold after a rain filled day of riding backroads. Felt right at home after a great welcome. Great food and company. Will be back soon. A fine burger and a really good breakfast. Simplicity is what counts in a setting such as this. So much to do in the area.......riding heaven !!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I spent a night at Koedoeskloof with a couple of biking friends while on a three day ride. I cannot speak highly enough about the lodge. It starts with the attitude of Debi and Eugene which is spot on. This attitude of course shapes everything they do. The rooms are great with tasteful and good quality appointments - even real coffee with a plunger. There is a shady and grassed camping area with a kitchenette and clean ablution facilities. The whole place is immaculately kept. The restaurant area is very pleasant with stunning views from the deck. The food is also stunning - a variety of delicious burgers (ostrich, kudu, chicken, beef etc) in the evening and either a cooked or health breakfast in the morning. This is an ideal place to stay for either a stop over or to chill for a couple of days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed over for one night as a family of 5 in two very nicely decorated and clean rooms. Each walked out onto the same patio and had a view of the mountains on either side. The hosts are very friendly and comfortable with a focus on excellent service. The food in their restaurant is great value for money - the best we had along our trip. Though there isn't a swimming-pool the hosts directed us to a lovely farm dam nearby, which the kids loved. We will most certainly stay over again and strongly recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CormarieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I camped there for one night, had to leave the next morning.
Lush grass and shade trees for tent camping, clean ablutions with kitchen facilities for campers.
The restaurant on-site serves value for money, good quality food. The hosts are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and it's activities.

Very quite area, ideal for hiking, motorcycles, MTB or just resting between the quite mountains.

Next time I will stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BergieZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ladismith hotels
2.1 mi away
Oaksrest Vineyards Guest Farm
0.5 mi away
Mymering
Mymering
#1 of 12 in Ladismith
375 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ladismith Manor
Ladismith Manor
#4 of 12 in Ladismith
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wolverfontein Karoo Cottages
5.8 mi away
Albert Manor Guest House
Albert Manor Guest House
#3 of 12 in Ladismith
23 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ritorna Me
Ritorna Me
#6 of 10 in Ladismith
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koedoeskloof Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koedoeskloof Country Lodge

Property: Koedoeskloof Country Lodge
Address: Dwarsrivier | S33 30. 300 E21 10. 258, Ladismith 6655, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Ladismith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ladismith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a piece of paradise where you can relax and enjoy a mix of the old and new as well as a pinch of the eclectic. Choose between 4 beautifully decorated rooms, twin or king size beds and en suite bathrooms. Or if you’d rather pitch your tent, we have warm water showers, a basic prep kitchen and a braai area with stunning views, complete with an Indian fire bowl and funky chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Koedoeskloof Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing