We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”
Review of Mymering

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mymering
Ranked #1 of 13 Ladismith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The consistency of service and accommodation is a wonderful experience at Mymering. The peacefulness and tranquility of Mymering coupled with the excellent meals should not be missed by travellers. Penny and Andy are superb hosts with Leonardo's great cooking. As a business traveller resulting in my staying over in many places, I would put Mymering at the top of my list of places to stay and eat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladilady, Owner at Mymering, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Greetings from a glorious day at Mymering today:)
It is a great feather in our cap to have guests return and always such a pleasure to accommodate you. As a business guest and travelling on your own I think your review is beneficial to others that travel to Ladismith on business. Thank you.
See you soon :)
warm wishes
Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 390 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

What needs to be reviewed about Mymering? the beautiful suites, the views, the food, the wines, the atmosphere, the dogs (specially Harry) it's all just perfect! But most off all the hospitality: Penny, Andy and Leonardo are great hosts: you come as a guest and leave as a friend, many thanks for a great time!
Do stop at Mymering wen you pass Ladismith, it's worth wile and value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GeaTexel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladilady, Owner at Mymering, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Greetings from Mymering :)
Thank you for your wonderful review of Mymering. It makes us proud and happy to receive reviews such as yours and makes us all strive to continue to deliver good service.
Hope to see you back to share precious moments.
warm wishes from us all at Mymering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Leonardo and his team took great care of us. The property lovely. We took a 2 hour hike on a well marked trail up to the top of mountain and back. Dinner was perfect with the full moon rising over a ridge as we finished. We returned back to our room where we had spent the evening and everything was great. And then the bugs came out. Little roaches, 4" long caterpillars falling from the ceiling, all accompanied by squeals from my not-usually-squeamish wife. The lizard was actually a welcome site as we know they eat bugs. We had a nice breakfast the next day, bought some wine and hit the road. We'll be back when the bugs check out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladilady, Owner at Mymering, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Greetings from a beautiful morning at Mymering :)

As this is your first and only review on Trip Advisor, you may be new travellers to our beautiful country. May I suggest that you choose city destinations rather than the country where you will find animals and yes, insects!!

I am pleased you enjoyed the dinners, service and wonderful walks on the property.

kind regards
Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Mymering Guest House offers a an experience a little out of the ordinary, but one not to be missed. Accommodation is very good and the evening meal, prepared by Penny was excellent. Don't miss out on the pre breakfast guided walk through the vineyard - well worth the effort. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GeoffL198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mymering Guest House because of the wonderful setting in the vineyards plus the top quality seperate facilities that gave us privacy. The gormet food and wine produced on the property were outstanding. We have already told many of our friends about this outstanding experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

It started with a very warm welcome by Moet & Chandon. No, not talking about champagne but about two king poodel and their 4 friends (all dogs). As we arrived late afternoon we were immediately invited for dinner and could "just" enjoy Andy's and Penny's accompagny. They really made their "little" vineyard something special, which we discovered next morning. Both nights we kept chatting with them almost until midnight as penny or was it us discovered we had to stop (delicious) wine tasting as Penny had to work the next day. Why am i describing this in so much detail? Because it really stood out and we felt we are almost at good old friends. I think I can't give a greater compliment. The rest you can pick from other trip advisor comments. Don't miss the early morning walk with Andy through his vineyard together with the 6 dogs. Afterwards you are really hungry and get a wonderful delicious breakfast. Overall we spent two nights at Mymering and guess we would return immediately. But unfortunately quite a journey from good old Germany.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the "Mae West" suite, wonder ful private with a great view and tasteful interio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hakscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This a truly marvellous place; one couple's dream home made available to travellers, casual or planned visitors, and probably best of all, romantic breaks. The house and its cottages nestle in a valley in the mountains, surrounded by its own vineyards. Fit and healthy? Your host Andy (and his charming poodles ... big robust animals, nothing namby pampy here) will take you on a morning ramble through the veldt around the rim of the estate, followed by Penny's hearty breakfast. Just be careful to follow signs from Ladismith if travelling that way. Its further than it seems.

Room Tip: Take what you are offered. It's a marvellous place, more a couple's dream that a business pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodney s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladilady, Owner at Mymering, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hello fellow South Africans :)
thank you for your helpful review of our Estate. So appreciative of you taking the time to review us - so motivating for all of us! look forward to serving you one of our dinners, but mostly pleased that you had time to enjoy each other.
warm wishes
Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ladismith hotels
0.5 mi away
Koedoeskloof Country Lodge
Koedoeskloof Country Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ladismith
67 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ladismith Manor
Ladismith Manor
#4 of 13 in Ladismith
14 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oaksrest Vineyards Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Wolverfontein Karoo Cottages
5.6 mi away
Albert Manor Guest House
Albert Manor Guest House
#2 of 13 in Ladismith
26 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ritorna Me
Ritorna Me
#6 of 10 in Ladismith
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mymering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mymering

Address: 2nd Dwarsrivier Road, Ladismith 6655, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Ladismith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ladismith
Price Range: $91 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mymering 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mymering is a 4 star wine and guest estate situated on a working wine and grape farm. All accommodation is air-conditioned with private pool decks. Rates include a hearty breakfast with a 3 course dinner on request. Enjoy our Hillock boutique wines in the evening and during the day take a walk through the vineyards to taste our different varieties of export table grapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Mymering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing