We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem to which we vow to return!”
Review of Mymering

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mymering
Ranked #1 of 12 Ladismith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked this simply on the reviews on Tripadvisor on our return trip to Cape Town along the garden route. We booked one night but very quickly on arrival checked and extended our stay for another night. The hospitality and welcoming approach of Penny and Andy - as well as their family and friends -was just wonderful. On arrival we slotted in to a gathering of people we had never met, thirty minutes later we could have been amongst old friends! The accomodation was beautiful ; the doggy walk in the morning refreshing with stunning scenery as well as informative with Andy's knowledge and boundless enthusiasm to inform. The wine and food wonderful. All in all we could have happily stayed on and next time we will know to leave more time! Thanks Penny and Andy for a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank EastNeukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladilady, Owner at Mymering, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Hello and greetings from a beautiful day at Mymering today. Andy and I have just come back from our doggy walk and ready to laze in the sun on the patio! Thank you for your wonderful review of our Guesthouse, and yes, it is good advise to inform new guests to stay longer than just a night.
Hope to see you back and warm wishes to you both.
Andy and Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
There are newer reviews for Mymering
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 378 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

My dear one and I decided to go on an adventure, just simply get in the car and find a beautiful place to sleep. We drove all day finding nothing that really captured the spirit of paradise we were longing for. After many disappointments we finally found the map to paradise supplied by kind souls along the way. Our destination Mymering, everything our hearts desired. We arrived at dusk, we were received by a welcoming Leo, who made us feel like family immediately, a bottle of full bodied Hillock red wine supplied to get our little fantasy going and so our wonderful escape from the mundane began. We woke to the sound of birds and nothing, perfect nothingness, fresh crisp nothingness, heaven. Driving around the beautiful snow kissed countryside, we realized that we just wanted to spend our time at Mymering, which is what we indeed did, so breakfast and dinner was shared with a group of the happiest Australians we have ever met. The food was perfection, after 13 years in the catering industry I can speak with authority on food, the décor, ambiance, natural home made quality, preserves made on the farm.
The list is endless, every aspect of Mymering is quality in real tangible terms. We are planning our next get away to Mymering already, we have found our fantasy escape!! Thank you Penny and Andy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirlee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladilady, Owner at Mymering, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Greetings from Mymering :)
So pleased that you found what you were looking for in Mymering and that we were able to tick all the right boxes! Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and sincerely hope to see you both back soon.
warm wishes
Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The only disappointment was that we had only booked for two nights. You need 3 or 4 to really enjoy the wonderful hospitality, Penny's superb cooking and Andy's stories and knowledge of the area. We ran out of time to soak in the atmosphere of the beautiful valley and enjoy the bird life and would like to have spent more time exploring the bigger area. We were lucky enough to be allocated the jacuzzi room, and spent some memorable times with a glass of Hillock wine watching the sunset on the mountains and the sunbirds on the aloes. We will be back soon and hopefully for longer.

Room Tip: In winter the jacuzzi room is a good option, but in warmer months a room with a private small swimmi...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladilady, Owner at Mymering, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hi and thank you so much for taking the time to review Mymering - always good for others looking to stay in Ladismith know that there is more to do than just a night stopover!
Lots of love to you both
Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have one major complaint....... that we had to leave too soon ! South African hospitality at its best, we were immediately made to feel at home by Andy & Penny. The delicious evening meals shared with guests and a glass of Mymering's best are not to be missed. Mymering offers something for young and old - our young boys had a absolute ball exploring the farm. Morning walks lead by Andy were the highlight for me and made for a guilt free breakfast. We would gladly escape back......

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Andy & Penny u made our stay at your piece of heaven fantastic!
Will be back again soon.
As for the question of a T V in the room,we would not even have turned it on as the views were more than enough to satisfy us
We will certainly advise our friends & family to visit & would only hope that they have the pleasure of being able to meet with u both during their stay .
U make it happen!
Big Girls Don't Cry!
Thank You!
Best Regards
Harold & Julie

Room Tip: Mae West - fantastic views!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julieb312559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladilady, Owner at Mymering, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thanks for your great review of our Wine and Guest Estate! Good to meet like minded folk to spend quality time with. Pleased you agree with the TV situation in our tranquil valley.
See you soon.
warm regards
Andy and Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Mymering we knew we had found something special! The location is awesome, nestled at the foot of the swartberg mountains surrounded by indiginous flora, this is a little piece of paradise. The rooms are beautiful and private, really nice linen, and the views are WOW!
The team at Mymering are fantastic and can arrange anything! And they make thier own wine and have a cosy restuarant with great food. Need I say more?

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nixsvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladilady, Owner at Mymering, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hello
Thanks for your wonderful review of Mymering! We appreciate your time in doing so and hope to see you back soon.
warm regards
Andy and Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked 2 nights and eventually stayed 3!! Andy & Penny are the most amazing hosts, they made us feel welcome and cared for at all times. Shared their wonderful wines and dinners as if we were family.

We stayed in the honeymoon suite - Mae West. Beautifully decorated with everything to make your stay absolute bliss and feel pampered. Sometimes I did not even want to leave the room - just sit on our private deck and take in the beauty of the surrounds.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ladismith hotels
1.6 mi away
Oaksrest Vineyards Guest Farm
0.5 mi away
Koedoeskloof Country Lodge
Koedoeskloof Country Lodge
#4 of 11 in Ladismith
65 reviews
5.6 mi away
Albert Manor Guest House
Albert Manor Guest House
#3 of 12 in Ladismith
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ladismith Manor
Ladismith Manor
#4 of 12 in Ladismith
13 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ritorna Me
Ritorna Me
#6 of 11 in Ladismith
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wolverfontein Karoo Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mymering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mymering

Address: 2nd Dwarsrivier Road, Ladismith 6655, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Ladismith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ladismith
Price Range: $69 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mymering 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mymering is a 4 star wine and guest estate situated on a working wine and grape farm. All accommodation is air-conditioned with private pool decks. Rates include a hearty breakfast with a 3 course dinner on request. Enjoy our Hillock boutique wines in the evening and during the day take a walk through the vineyards to taste our different varieties of export table grapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mymering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing