We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Long Mountain Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hope B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

A excellent standard of accomodation, . Very clean and modern. Amazing hosts, very friendly, relaxing atmosphere and a good breakfast. Very tranquil area. Local area did have a lack of high standard evening meal options but will definitely return.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank stevechef33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evegreg55, Owner at Long Mountain Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your review of Long Mountain B&B, Mike and I are really pleased that you had a relaxing weekend here and hope to see you again in 2014.

Kind regards and Happy Christmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Long Mountain Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 137 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

An enjoyable place to stay, a very modern property built on the hills overlooking Welshpool and the Powis estate. From the moment we arrived when we were shown our large comfortable bedroom and given a welcoming cup of tea and cakes. Our hosts were able to give valuable information regarding the local town and its restaurants and sights. While a couple of miles outside of Welshpool it is well worth staying at this B&B which was one of the best I have stayed at in the UK in recent years.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evegreg55, Owner at Long Mountain Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and your feedback on the comfort of the bedroom and welcome. We feel it is really important to greet our guests and help them feel at home. Local knowledge is useful to guests and helps them to make full use of the nearby amenities.

We do hope you will stay with us again in the future, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

What an amazing place to stay. Well located to the road net, quiet, an amazing building mix of the old and new, the owners could not make you feel more at home. In a nut shell, all you could want. The area is very beautiful and there some nice hikes from the B&B. Breakfasts were great, and the advice was excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evegreg55, Owner at Long Mountain Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Mike and I would like to thank you for taking time to add your review of Long Mountain Bed and Breakfast. It was lovely to meet you and great that you appreciate the old and new building.

It is important to us that guests feel at home here and we're glad that we have achieved this.

This area of Mid Wales is underestimated in terms of things to see and do here. There are castles, railways, cycle routes and beautiful places to walk and we're pleased that you noticed this.

We're also happy that you enjoyed your breakfasts and benefited from our local knowledge.

We hope that you might stay with us again in the future, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spacious bedroom, emaculate bathroom, delicious breakfast, and very welcoming hosts. We could not have expected or needed more for this two-night stay during our Broadway journey from Barmouth to Yarmouth. Completely lives up to (and beyond) its internet description.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ralphjohunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evegreg55, Owner at Long Mountain Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Many thanks for taking time to review your Long Mountain Bed and Breakfast experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We continually review how we work and put ourselves in our customer's shoes to understand how our customers feel and what hey expect from their stay.

We are also reassured by your comment that we live up to (and beyond) our internet description as it is essential to have happy guests and meet and exceed their expectations.

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is the second time we have been here now and we love it. Superb accommodation, lovely breakfast and most of all fantastic hosts Evelyn and Mike who go that extra mile. This time was a special occasion made even more special by their hospitality.
The hotel is also very central to places to visit in both Wales and England and if you're stuck for ideas the hosts will surely put you right.
We will definitely come back again and again!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnetteSpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evegreg55, Manager at Long Mountain Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for this review, Mike and I are thrilled that you enjoy staying here. We really enjoyed sharing in your celebration. We are amazed at how much you manage to squeeze into your time staying here, you're certainly well travelled, especially around Mid Wales and Shropshire!

We're looking forward to seeing you both in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very nice place with lovely owners Evelyn and Mike. Very clean new rooms, excellent breakfast, peaceful place. Totally different experience than in the big hotel chains - in a good way. Luxury feeling! I would warmly recommend. For me the location was perfect, as I had business in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evegreg55, Owner at Long Mountain Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for the review and we're so pleased that you chose to stay with us. Our guests often say that they've had a great night's sleep which is so important when working in the area.
We do hope that you stay here again if you are working here in the future and we hope that your journey home was pleasant.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Ideally located on the route of National Cycle Route 81 this was the obvious place to stay and proved a very happy choice. I was made very welcome by Mike who took time to chat, which I appreciated as a solo traveller. Similarly, he and his wife Evelyn were particularly kind and considerate to the other guests, especially those staying on their own. Very civilized. The accommodation was of very high quality, absolutely pristine. Breakfast was also excellent and ample for my day's cycling. I was most impressed.

Room Tip: My king size room had a very pleasant view over the surrounding hills on both sides.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evegreg55, Owner at Long Mountain Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Many thanks for your review, you are right, we are ideally situated for cyclists as we are on route 81. We also have secure storage which is essential for expensive bikes.
We're pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and hope it gave you a good start up the hills!

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope
1.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
689 reviews
10.3 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
131 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
466 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
787 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Railway Inn
The Railway Inn
#3 of 3 in Forden
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Mountain Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Mountain Bed and Breakfast

Address: Little Hope | Welshpool, Hope, Welshpool SY21 8HF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Welshpool > Hope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hope
Price Range: $50 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Visit Wales Gold Award 5 star B & B is near Powis Castle, a National Trust Property, hill-walking, cycling trails, the Offa's Dyke Path, Glyndwr's Way, lakes, canoeing and ancient walks, this part of Wales also offers excellent golf courses, modern leisure centres, bike rentals, horse-riding, hiking, fishing, shooting, exploring, steam railway, picnicking and hang-gliding ... And the beautiful rolling hills of Mid Wales. Our luxury Bed and Breakfast in Welshpool, Mid Wales and is perfectly placed to provide a comfortable base for these activities or to escape for a relaxing holiday. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing