We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
152
26
8
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
152
26
8
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub sunday lunch pudding onion gravy charming inn normal menu delightful village devon village roast meats lovely lunch local ingredients mussels log fire smoked haddock florentine italian chicken tracey axminster
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 196 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Beautiful traditional English pub in delightful village setting. Food is excellent and portion size immense. Son says they do the best roast he has ever had and we should give it 10 out of 5. He's not wrong. The fish specials are also fresh and excellent. We have been many times and always enjoy great service.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterandBeccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

A beautiful thatched inn in the heart of the Devon countryside where you receive a real Yorkshire welcome! The interior is traditional with horse brasses and an open fire and could be a film set. The choice of beers is good and the wine list is both extensive and reasonable. Where the Tucker's really scores though is on food: the menu is excellent with a wide choice supplemented by a range of specials. We had bangers and mash off the main menu and Chinese belly pork from the specials and they were both superb and reasonably priced. Beware, though: the portion sizes are huge and you'll need a hearty appetite to contemplate two courses, let alone three. Heartily recommended.

Date of stay: April 2012
3  Thank garybons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Like CarolynAA, I am surprised at the review left by 721miner saying the helpings were small - are they talking about the same place we visited last July which is down for a repeat visit this year when we return to the area, or confusing it with some other place???? The portions were huge - we both ended up leaving food on the plate and I remember commenting on how big they were to the owner. The staff were very helpful, courteous and bent over backwards to accommodate my gluten-free diet at short notice. We found the place by accident on the web and were so glad we did. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Gigixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We are local and eat here a lot - don't tell everyone. Very surprised to see review by 721miner who had a bad experience. Portions are NEVER small, good varied menu, excellent food, lovely selection of veg, nice old country pub, service generally good.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolynAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Warm and welcoming, with good waiting staff. However...
After being seated and ordering almost immediately, starters didn't join us at the table for another hour and a half. It felt like a drink sales exercise.
For the price of some of the mains, the portion size surprised a few of us. The meal was very nice, but small, pricey, and long awaited.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 721miner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews