We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Worthwhile Stay”
Review of Cross Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cross Square Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crossmaglen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2014

If you want to stay in a culturally significant town roughly between Dublin and Belfast, Crossmaglen is the place to stay, and the Cross Square Hotel is your best choice. It was such a great little hotel. The beds were comfy and the views are awesome. The food here is superb (I quite liked the black and white puddings) and the staff really do go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. Fiona is a gem and a great hostess. We had music the first night we stayed which made the restaurant feel even warmer and more cozy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 198 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

The charm of this hotel lies with the staff. Every one of them is prepared to go the extra mile, nothing at all is too much trouble. We had one of the best nights ever at this hotel the music was brilliant and the craic even better…Crossmaglen itself is a good base for exploring the stunning countryside, then a first class dinner, a few drinks and a comfortable bed..what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 628Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a lovely wee spot with a lot of very beautiful countryside within a short distance. The staff are warm and welcoming as are the locals. Breakfast is of a high standard, and the rooms are large,clean, warm &comfortable. I would have loved to give this property a five star review but a few small gripes held me back (booo trip advisor for not offering 4 &1/2 star options)...

1. update your online booking system... ( but for the good grace of the receptionist , we nearly didn't get a room, even though we booked the night before).

2. remove or replace broken or faulty fixtures (& mayabe update the tv channels a little)

3. swipe card entry through the front door ...(I was out late!!! lol)

then on the plus side keep doing what your doing

1. Great Staff

2. Great Food

3. Great Location

This is a lovely hotel in a very scenic area, with warm, courteous staff. I look forward to my next visit and hope to bring some friends next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Great food, music. Our stop on the way to Belfast.
Would stay here again.
The most friendly, helpful people we've met.
Rich in history
Remodeled hotel is super for the area. Staff work really hard to please.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The friendly and professional staff made the stay at Cross Square Hotel a real treat for me and my whole family and the friends who traveled with me. The excellent service was matched by the hearty breakfasts and gourmet supper meals we enjoyed every day for the three full days stay at Crossmaglen.

The hotel staff, from Fionna representing the ownership and her right hand manager Caroline to the cooks, the pub girls and servers, all were courteous, friendly, and very helpful. They were a microcosm of South Armagh. These same traits could be found in the villages of Mullaghbane and Camlough. Everyone at the hotel and throughout South Armagh were so helpful, considerate and kind, giving advice, making suggestions and providing directions.

Getting back to Cross Square Hotel, the rooms and bar area were always clean, the staff was always available, and parking was conveniently across the street. We were in Ireland for two weeks, and we traveled across the North, down the west coast to the Dingle Peninsula, up the Shannon to Clanmacnois and into Dublin. The whole group ranked Cross Square Hotel as their favorite hotel.

My congratulations to Fiona Kleran and her staff, to the people we met in Crossmaglen and the other places in South Armagh. They were clearly some of the friendliest we encountered in a country well known for their hospitality.

Room Tip: My group had over twenty persons, several families of four or more, and every room was regardless of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My first but definitely not my last stay in the wonderful Cross Square Hotel Crossmaglen. As part of my work I get to stay in many hotels and guesthouses throughout the thirty two counties of Ireland and I can say without hesitation that this is one of the best. Not because it's a four or five star hotel, not because it's in any particular guide book of hotels that have to be visited, but simply because the moment you put your foot across the threshold you feel the warmth of welcome from the owners and their wonderful staff. This is a small family run hotel, truly run by family and their dedicated staff, who are eager to please no matter what is asked of them. I will return as soon and as often as I can to Fiona , Caroline and The Cross Square Hotel Crossmaglen.

Room Tip: My room was at the back of the hotel, it was a nice quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike101Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on St Patrick's eve/day. Great music by Raglan, simple food, very friendly locals and staff. Staff make you feel relaxed and in no rush to go to bed or wake up early. Wonderful breakfast at noon (something every hotel should do). Crossmaglen is a quiet, nice wee place, like any small town or big village in Ireland.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Empy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crossmaglen
10.2 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
741 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
344 reviews
18.6 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,392 reviews
19 mi away
Charlemont Arms Hotel
15.6 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Square Hotel

Address: 4-5 Cardinal o'Fiaich Square, Crossmaglen BT35 9AA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Crossmaglen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crossmaglen
Price Range: $120 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cross Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location to explore both sides of the border. Whether is a Newry city shopping trip, fishing, golf, equestrian or a relaxing walk in unspoiled natural beauty – South Armagh has it all! 15 bedrooms all en-suite with a modern, contemporary décor this family-run hotel offers excellent accommodation, mouth watering cuisine, and weekend live entertainment. World Host Award for excellence in customer service 2013.Taste of Ulster Award for food 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cross Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Square Hotel Crossmaglen, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing