We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Unicorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Unicorn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay In a great room . I stay away with work a great deal and have to say for the price ...BRILLIANT.
I recently stayed in Malmaison recently in Glasgow that was £155 per night and not a patch on this room . You will not be disappointed

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank timwainwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    316
    93
    31
    19
See reviews for
132
431
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great bar, food fab and very reasonable expecially breakfast, just a shame the noise from outside kept us awake all night. Woukdn't have minded at a 19 pound travel inn etc, but 69. Too much for sleepless nights!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend decided we need a quiet night away from the kids, and after trawling the internet came upon The Unicorn. This is a lovely pub, fab food, excellent service and had clean tidy rooms. The only negative was the noise outside the pub in the square, loads of teenagers were congregated here until at least 5am, the presence of the police did nothing to deter them, hence we had no sleep whatso ever! We also requested a double bed and got " singles shoved together, so all in all we had a terrible nights sleep....think twice about going here unless youre prepared to party in the street......

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Went here with family last Friday, the pub is spacious and clean and the service fast and attentive but the food was the usual Weatherspoons fayre, mass produced and quite bland, the ‘gourmet’ chicken burger was massive yet tasteless, the cheese was a gloopy sauce and there were hardly any chips on the plate, the sauce came in a cheap paper disposable cup. I suppose it’s the prices that attract though and ‘free’ drinks so to that extent it reaches its target audience and does it well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spendleb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Location fantastic, our first time to ripon and could be more lovely little city to visit.
This is a really nice hotel, £69 per night is very acceptable price. Staff at reception were so friendly and warm, with good banter!
Double room was flawless, bed big, bathroom fab, digital telly and coffee/tea etc. Lovely view as well.
Breakfast in the pub downstairs was very very good. Can see why the food gets good reviews.
Pub very busy on a night but others in the area, can't couldn't hear a prep from 3rd floor.
Our radiator in room was a timed one and u could hear the clicking and couldn't get rid which was slightly annoying.
Only other downside is parking. Hotel has a small car park which had no room. Park in the Victoria cross long stay behind bus station.
Overall very impressed!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulTapscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first visit to The Unicorn - we decided to stay here en route up to Whitby. I like the Wetherspoon style of hotel - good facilities, central location, well looked after and usually a good pub underneath. We arrived at about 6.30pm and after having some difficulty parking the car, checked in with the usual courteous and informative service. The rooms were excellent (at just £51.75 per room per night), spacious and spotlessly clean. The pub downstairs was EXTREMELY busy - we had a real fight getting a table for four. It was apparently the popularity of the Friday Night Fish Night that was the cause of the 'problem' - whilst we did not eat at The Unicorn the fish did look exceptionally good. The pub was less busy as the night progressed, but unfortunately the earlier hoards had been very thirsty and the normal selection of five or six handpulled beers had been reduced to two............. no real problem. A good hotel, centrally located, well priced, and very popular. We shall return!

Room Tip: A room not overlooking the main square might be useful for light sleepers - lots of young kids do co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodbeer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We broke our journey in Ripon. For the first time we stopped in a Wetherspoon Hotel. Its situated in the Market square . Ripon is a very attractive town (city) well worth a visit in its own right. The accommodation is above a very busy pub.I couldn't hear it from the room.
The room was spotless and well equipped . The staff were excellent. Every member of staff we had dealings with were helpful,friendly and a credit to Wetherspoons.
Our room was on the 3rd floor there was no lift. I had no problems with that but people with mobility issues will have problems.We had our evening meal and breakfast at the hotel, which was good value but extra. The total cost for 2 people about £108 , that included a very good bottle of Shiraz. I think it was excellent value. A pleasurable experience. Well done. I will stay in a Wetherspoons hotel again...isn't it time for a loyalty card !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cenunnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
731 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
420 reviews
8.2 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,208 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn

Property: The Unicorn
Address: Market Place East, Ripon HG4 1BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Unicorn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Unicorn Hotel has been at the heart of hospitality in Ripon, one of Britain's smallest cities, since medieval times. This former coaching inn has 32 en-suite rooms, a bar and dining facilities. Close to Fountains Abbey, a world heritage site, and the beautiful Yorkshire Dales National Park, Ripon is one of the North's best kept secrets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Unicorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing