We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Unicorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Unicorn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Firstly, we got the room for £34.50 which we thought was a bargain so were not going to be too concerned if the place was a dump. We parked around the back in the overnight carpark (only a couple of quid) and checked in. The lady on the desk was very pleasant and very efficient. We were then told we could put the car in their own carpark round the back of the hotel for nothing so i shifted the car and it spent the night there. The room (208) was immaculately clean and had a modern feel to it. Everything was spotless!!! We were well chuffed as we've stayed in some more expensive places that arent up to this standard. The bed was fantasticly comfy and we both slept soundly (that might have been partly booze fuelled) Ok, so the price of the room doesn't include breakfast, but we knew this already and for about 6 quid downstairs, we were both completely satisfied. The hotel is situated right in the centre of Ripon with easy access for everything the city and the surrounding area has to offer. There isnt a great deal to do on a damp, cold Thursday night in Ripon, but we made the most of it and had ourselves a little pub crawl. Lets break it down. £34.50 for the room, £6 for breakfast and £14 for a case of 24 corona from rhythm and booze up the road :-) If that was available anywhere in the country you'd probably take up the offer. I would recommend anyone wanting a clean comfortable stay in a hotel to use The unicorn, we'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smasual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
There are newer reviews for The Unicorn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 836 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Really good place to stay. Quiet top floor room, very clean, tea & coffee facilities and modern bathroom. Excellent position on the square with easy access to places to eat and drink. Nice place for a drink in the afternoon and the breakfast was really good value. No need to pay anymore. Would definitely stay there again. Great place to use as a base for exploring the area just watch out for market day which is Thursday. They set up from quite early in the morning which did create a bit of noise but other than that the whole stay was very good.

The staff on reception and in the bar are polite and helpful. We would stay in a Whetherspoons again. Good choice of beer and usual value for money too.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Wetherspoons have brought their highly effective formula to Ripon, refurbing a tired old hotel on Ripon's Marketplace. It's not haute cuisine but if you're looking for somewhere that's convenient and with a decent range of food and beers, including some very well-priced options then you can't go too far wrong. It does get very busy but it is deceptively big, with a large back bar so usually no problem to get in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We booked a room here for one night in the middle of a long journey, based mainly on the low online price, and knowing that Wetherspoon pubs offer good value. We were amazed at the grandeur of the building, right on the edge of the central square, and at the elegance of the interior. The room we were allocated (no. 206) was enormous, and the en-suite bathroom was also huge. Everything was clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was not included, but was available in the pub downstairs, was tasty and well cooked, and arrived very quickly. It was clear even early morning that the hotel is a popular venue for locals and visitors alike, and it had a really good atmosphere. Wetherspoons obviously have a knack for recruitment, and the staff are friendly, hard-working and helpful. On the strength of such a good experience at this hotel, we decided to search out another Wetherspoons for the following night, and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked this hotel as close to venue of a friend's wedding, knew we wouldn't be spending much time in it so booked the cheapest on the suggested list and our expectations were not high. The rooms were very good, stylish and clean, much better than we expected. Also, good location overlooking the main square. Breakfast in the ajoining pub was convenient but average. Only thing that let the hotel down was time taken to check in and then once we got to our room realised someone else's belongings were in it. Parking available in public car park 5 minutes walk away. Great value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony and Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The room was very smart with a great view over to the cathedral. The sheets did have food stains on though. The pub downstairs was OK, standard Wetherspoons, cheap beer and food. Breakfast was not included but was cheap too. Go outside at 9pm to see the Ripon hornblower call the night watch, done each night for over 1000 years.

Room Tip: Higher floors are further away from any pub noise.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wateladze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked the unicorn as a stay over after a family christening. We had been in the unicorn a few times for meals on our regular trips to see family in Yorkshire. We booked the room online and got quite a good deal - althougth I did notice the price dropped nearer the time - maybe I should have cancelled and booked again!!!

Never the less - the room was really good - very spacious, very clean, central location. The only problem we had was that the bar area was sooooooo hot. The food is the usual Wetherspoons menu - and our whole family gathered to join us for breakfast. Definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garrypawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
780 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 5 in Thirsk
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
370 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
664 reviews
8.1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn

Address: Market Place East, Ripon HG4 1BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: $50 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Unicorn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Unicorn Hotel has been at the heart of hospitality in Ripon, one of Britain's smallest cities, since medieval times. This former coaching inn has 32 en-suite rooms, a bar and dining facilities. Close to Fountains Abbey, a world heritage site, and the beautiful Yorkshire Dales National Park, Ripon is one of the North's best kept secrets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Unicorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing