We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of The Unicorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Unicorn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner often visit the unicorn for breakfast/lunch.food is always very,atmosphere is relaxed and the whole place is very clean.I've visited many wetherspoons before but this one is the best yet.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E-Brook2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
There are newer reviews for The Unicorn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 835 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed here many, many years ago and thought I'd take the opportunity of giving it another try whilst visiting family.
I stayed at the Unicorn on the 15th July for a single night, I knew what to expect as I'd used the adjoining Wetherspoon's pub frequently on previous visits.
So here's my review in brief;
+ Parking: Not great if you want the hotels free spaces, but there is a huge Pay & Display a very short walk away
+ Room: We were up in the gods, and as there is no lift and steep, narrow stairs, it proved a challenge getting our luggage up to room 304 - and down again I might add (and not a porter to be seen!!)
+ Public areas: Shared with the pub - both are run by Wetherspoon's, and to be honest the Unicorn is one of the nicest Wetherspoon bars I've been in with a wide cross section of people and a good cellar.
+ Food: Cheap and cheerful, but nevertheless good quality. I'll forgive the staff for selling me a curry & naan with out the naan, and bringing me the wrong Caesar salad - simply because it was dealt with so quickly
+ Would I stay there again? Probably not! But I'll defintely be drinking/eating there again - Theakston's Old Peculier at £2.15 per pint!!

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor if you don't want to cart your baggage up the hotel equivalent of Mount Ever...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grayskyblue87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed one night this week, and really enjoyed it. Great location and very helpful friendly staff. Food also a pleasant surprise - really good steak, and amazing value for money! I was a wether spoons snob, but no longer! I beds really comfortable, immaculate sheets and room. Parking a bit of a pain, but worth the effort anyway. Will definitely try another in this chain. Most impressed.

Room Tip: Our room was on front but 3rd floor and no lift in hotel, so be warned that you need to be fit enoug...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChipandPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed at the Unicorn for one night in June. The staff were helpful and friendly. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Incredibly good value for money, would happily recommend a stay at The Unicorn and a trip to Fountains Abbey.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beckydawsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Excellent location, clean room nice bathroom all at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonMarie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great location, very clean rooms, comfy beds, nice bathrooms and all at a great price. Got a tasty breakfast the following morning for all of £2.99! Take note of other reviews on finding the car park, which is somewhat hidden away and do visit the Cathedral. The Deanery looked like a great place to eat but, sadly, was fully booked. All in all, well done Wetherspoons.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladymaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Just returned from one night at this Wetherspoons hotel and had to report what a good time we had.
All staff were very attentive especially the gentleman on reception who showed us the way to the small car park at the rear. Without instruction you will never find it. Drive through Sainsbury car park to top corner and follow delivery road where you will see the sign for the hotel.
Our room on the top floor was clean and tastfully decorated, overlooking the square which was buzzing on market day. When the bar turned out at last orders it was a bit noisy but that didnt last long. The bathroom was bright modern and fresh.
We had breakfast and an evening meal and both were hot and excellent value. Drinks were reasonably priced as are all their pubs. The only small gripe I would have is not enough staff on the bar at busy times but that did not delay the delivery of our meals.
Their TripAdvisor certificate was proudly displayed on reception and so it should. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robsondavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
779 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
370 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
663 reviews
8.1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn

Address: Market Place East, Ripon HG4 1BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: $50 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Unicorn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Unicorn Hotel has been at the heart of hospitality in Ripon, one of Britain's smallest cities, since medieval times. This former coaching inn has 32 en-suite rooms, a bar and dining facilities. Close to Fountains Abbey, a world heritage site, and the beautiful Yorkshire Dales National Park, Ripon is one of the North's best kept secrets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Unicorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing