We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, understaffed”
Review of Lockwoods

Lockwoods
Ranked #3 of 90 Restaurants in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $47
Cuisines: European, Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: WINNER OR THE GOOD FOOD GUIDE'S BEST RESTAURANT IN THE NORTH EAST 2016 Located in the cathedral city of Ripon, Lockwoods provides a relaxed place to enjoy brunch, lunch or dinner. We're about classic, seasonal cooking and our modern European menu focuses on flavour not geography, but always maintains a strong nod towards our Yorkshire roots. We use the best seasonal produce that we can find and source much of our produce locally, particularly in the summer months, when we use the heritage garden 200 yards from our front door. We also have a wide range of local and European beers and a great wine list (currently 25 bins). We have received many accolades for our food, service and atmosphere, including "No 1 Family Run Restaurant in the UK" by The Times, recommended by The Independent, nominated for "Best Neighbourhood Restaurant" by Yorkshire Life, recognised in the Observer Food Awards, and listed in the Which Good Food Guides. We're a family run restaurant that has been established for over 10 years and happy to cater for groups, families, children, vegans, vegetarians.... and everyone in between. Put simply, we're a place that you'll want to come back to time and time again. AND IF IT'S NOT ON THE MENU - JUST ASK. Open Tuesday to Sunday Great value early bird menu 6-7 pm. Regular special events such as Call my Bluff Wine evening, Live jazz or our very popular tapas evening. Menus available for Children, Vegetarians and other dietary requirements, or just ask us and we'll cook it! Full disabled access throughout.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Went in for an early evening meal on a recommendation. The staff were friendly. The restaurant was comfortable and modern, would be appropriate for a night out with friends, but not the place for a cosy couple.

The menu was good, and the food excellent. A slight disappointment was that with just three staff serving and running the bar, they just could not cope when the place filled up. The service remained friendly but became very slow. Sort this point out and it's not a bad place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BobTheCollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewSLockwood, Owner at Lockwoods, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Hi Bob,

Thank you so much for your review its always good to get feedback. Im really glad you enjoyed the food. Just a note on the 'understaffing'. I'm assuming you probably visited on Thursday as your review is written the day after. On Thursday evening we had 15 booked but ended up serving approx 50 covers. We do our level best to serve all our customers in the best manner and as quickly as possible. However if people do not book then all try to come in within an hour we are always going to struggle. Its the unpredictability that always catches you out! Sorry if it was a little slow but I'm glad you were still seeing friendly faces. Hope you pop back in soon.

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
There are newer reviews for Lockwoods
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 495 of 604 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had dinner in Lockwoods this evening and were not disappointed. From my hummus starter through the half lobster and shrimp mains to the home made ice cream, everything was delicious. My partner (who is not in the least 'foodie') had the goats cheese and spinach tart to start and wanted to lick his plate! Then he had the custom made burger and declared it too to be excellent. I wish we lived closer, this would definitely be a regular venue for us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leithheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The food was overpriced and the portions horrifically small and when the food arrived it was utterly average. i believe the standard of the restaurant has considerably dropped would not advise this to anyone.

Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewSLockwood, Owner at Lockwoods, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Hi John,

I'm very sorry you were disappointed with your visit to Lockwoods. As the owner of the business who is hands on in the kitchen and front of house I'm always upset by poor reviews.
I was unaware of any problems so I assume you did not mention anything when you visited. This is always a difficult situation for any restaurant owner. If you had mentioned something at the time we would have done out best to rectify it. As it is now, you have posted a poor review with no details so it is very hard to identify the actual problem. I will contact you directly to look into this further. However I firmly believe we are a friendly professional restaurant with a fantastic team of staff who look after all our loyal customers very well. All our food is good value for money and of excellent quality. I cannot identify with your comments of 'horrifically small' or 'utterly average' and if people look at all our other reviews they will see that we maintain an excellent standard of food and service. I do hope you try us again soon and we will aim to make amends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We turned up without booking on a Friday evening and were lucky enough to find a table. This restaurant is obviously popular and we found out why - the food we ordered was delicious. We would certainly go back again if we were in Ripon and would recommend it.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank elanora1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Brilliant!.Had the most gorgeous lunch we were made to feel very welcome and all our needs were dealt wit promptly and we both thought it was good value for money.

Thank noname544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lockwoods also viewed

Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Lockwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing