We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Stay”
Review of Box Tree Cottages

Box Tree Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ripon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Box Tree Cottages
Ranked #12 of 19 Ripon B&B and Inns
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Top Stay”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a delightful night at Box Tree with excellent hosts Barbara & Bill. They pointed us in the right direction for a good evening meal & made sure we didn't miss the 'Ripon Hornblower' experience - a must. A comfortable room & stay, excellent breakfast & most accomodating with our bicycles, panniers etc. Many thanks

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Quinnie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
45
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Excellent accommodation and hospitality. Stayed 1 night on way to Scotland. So good, booked for return the week after for the return trip.
Breakfast was freshly cooked with a wide choice of juices, cereals etc

Room Tip: Only saw two rooms but assume te others are just as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

booked a short break for a short weekend for a school re union.I was greeted as i pulled up by the owner who was gardening in the lovely grounds,with a lovely welcome.Shown to my room had everything explained including breakfast,nothing was left unexplained.Super listed building with a lovely quiet room overlooking the garden with en suite bathroom,tea coffee,biscuits,nothing overlooked here.Sitting room and dining room downstairs,a lovely touch was sweets in my room and sweets in the sitting room.A lovely place to stay handy for exploring ripon and surrounding area,nice and quiet.

Room Tip: all en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingdom of Fife
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This a lovely B&B, it is a beautiful building and the interior is in keeping, it was like being back at Grannies, perfect. The cooked breakfast hits the mark, it will set you up for the day ahead. The owners are lovely and very welcoming. As I was traveling, I only needed a room for one night. I had no problem here, my reservation was welcomed. Some B&B's seems to have forgotten that B&B's are for travelers, who do not want to stay a minimum of two or three nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nodrogthegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Beautiful, quaint B&B. Our group of six had a lovely stay last Wednesday. The owners have really made an effort with this place. Our room was tastefully decorated with furniture in keeping with the cottage. The lounge was a comfortable place to enjoy watching the Olympics and to enjoy eating the complimentary chocolates! The owners were very friendly and we particularly appreciated the recommendation to go and see the Ripon horn player in the market square at 9pm. Bike storage was provided in the owners' two sheds (we had forewarned them that six bikes would be turning up). Breakfast was delicious - the full English had proper thick cut tasty bacon and excellent black pudding. There was also a good selection of yogurts and cereals. Would definitely recommend this B&B!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

just returned from 1 night here & we thought this b&b lovely & inviting, as were Barbara & Bill! Our room (6) was really comfy & the breakfast was excellent. It's in an ideal location for walking into the city of Ripon - we were there to see our friends' daughter who was one of the Olympic torch bearers running through the city in the afternoon & though we had officially checked out in the morning they were kind enough to let us leave our car in their carpark until after the event, which saved us alot of hassle!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robotmanWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leura
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The cottages and garden are very pretty and well located, and Ripon is an attractive town. We were a party of four taking three rooms. All the rooms were charming, and were equipped with everything one could ever need, including even a pair of scissors. Our hosts were welcoming and helpful, recommending a very good pub dinner and providing information about gardens and stately homes in the area when we expressed an interest (there were also good reference books and brochures in the common room). The breakfast was excellent. Our only problem initially was finding the place - the market square was closed for an event, and our GPS pointed us the wrong way up a one-way street!

Room Tip: The wi-fi signal was a little weak in the room furthest from the centre of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia9642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ripon hotels
0.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
813 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
762 reviews
7.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,268 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#13 of 19 in Ripon
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Box Tree Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Tree Cottages

Property: Box Tree Cottages
Address: Box Tree Cottages Coltsgate Hill, Ripon HG4 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very quietly situated 200 year old property set in large gardens and close to the centre of Ripon. Friendly owners, comfortable rooms, an attention to detail and good food make your visit enjoyable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing