We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-maintained cathedral”
Review of Ripon Cathedral

Ripon Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$449.77*
and up
Castle Howard and Fountains Abbey Private Tour from York
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ripon Cathedral traces its history back to its foundation by St Wilfrid in 672AD. The Anglo-Saxon crypt of St Wilfrid's church remains and is open to visitors. Choral evensong takes place Tuesday to Friday at 6pm and Sundays at 5.30pm. Details of all services may be found on our website. We are open to visitors daily throughout the year and entry is free, though we rely on generous donations to continue this practice. Most of the building is wheelchair accessible with the exception of the Library and the Anglo-Saxon crypt. There is a touch-screen computer interpretation of the crypt at ground level for those unable to access it.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Northampton
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Well-maintained cathedral”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The cathedral was atmospheric and very well cared for. The gothic carvings were beautifully intricate and the stonework very fine indeed. No visit to Ripon would be complete without a look inside.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank elisangary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    190
    26
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sedbergh School Choir recital”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We attended the Christmas Carol service at York Minster the night before and the school choir of Sedbergh - knocked it into a cocked hat. Their performance was simply stunning, full of passion and enthusiasm. We'd love to see this choir perform again much more than a wasted visit to York Minster. The Cathedral is beautiful and well worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank betteradayonthehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A real Christmas treat”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We attended the Festal Eucharist service on Christmas Day. A full congregation, the choir and the organ all conspired to provide an uplifting start to our Christmas. After the service time to look around the cathedral and see some of its splendours. Well worth a visit at any time, but this was truly special.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Welcoming and atmospheric”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I attended Choral Evensong here by chance after being confronted by a turnstile at York. What a difference. The music was out of this world, as is the splendid building, but more importantly the clergy and laity were so welcoming and friendly, even to a stranger that I will be returning very soon!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the most inspiring Cathedrals in England”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was privileged to be installed as an Honorary Lay Canon of this beautiful Cathedral on Sunday and I will always have lasting memories of the ceremony and venue. A visit to the lovely city of Ripon must always include a visit to the Cathedral and I know you will leave with the thought " must come again"

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KeithMrYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripon Cathedral also viewed

 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Ripon Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing