We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and delightful.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oliver's Pantry

Oliver's Pantry
Ranked #2 of 83 Restaurants in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Oliver's Pantry is a quirky cafe just off the Market Square in Ripon, passionate about full bodied coffee & flavoursome loose leaf tea, serving fresh wholesome & uplifting food all day, every day!
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quirky and delightful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I regularly meet friends for coffee and cake at Oliver's Pantry. They've got it just right. Lovely welcoming staff, original, quirky, appealing and cosy decor, a good ambiance, great coffee and yummy food.
The outside area is delightful too. Service sometimes a wee bit slow but that's because it's popular and attractive. The staff do their best to serve you without much delay even when they are busy. We love it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Sammy209973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    140
    40
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a veggie breakfast with gluten free bread which was absolutely perfect. Brilliant, entertaining menu- great atmosphere, lovely staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amos_the_duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“First, but most definitely not the last visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited this charming little cafe today for the first time after hearing loads of great things about it.
It's right up my street for sure, shabby chic, mismatched furniture and crockery and distressed furniture and bunting galore. I was in heaven!

We were seated promptly and a high chair was brought straight over for my baby. Order was taken swiftly and everything arrived in a reasonable time exactly as we ordered it. We got 2 pots of tea (loose leaf) in charming little pots, served with a vintage china cup & saucer and a mini old fashioned milk jug. So cute. I ordered pancakes and asked specifically for no honey as it was listed on the menu - this was noted (and also deducted a small amount from the bill) and my mum had a freshly baked fruit scone with jam & cream. Absolutely delicious.
The menu is varied with plenty of choice and I can't wait to visit again to try something else. The bill came to £11 which I thought was pretty reasonable.
The toilet facilities were also top notch; clean and stylish with some funky music playing whilst you pee. Perfect! 5*

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JessicaTT187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

...if it arrives

As with so many other towns and cities, Ripon has now been blighted with outposts of the big coffee house chains, so it is good to see that new independents are still opening in this charming cathedral city.

I'd previously had a bad experience with Oliver's before and had walked out after waiting over 20 minutes for someone to take my order. But anyone can have an off day, so I was prepared to try again.

Twice, in fact. The first time, our (undeniably tasty soup) took so long to materialise, we didn't have time for something sweet. The second time, only half our order came and, after another interminable wait, we decided to cut our losses and made our exit.

So, that's three times out of three the service has disappointed.

This is a shame because the food, if/when it arrives, is good. The environment - shabby chic - is a refreshing change from the corporate blandness of You Know Who or Ye Olde Teashoppe chintziness and, if the weather's good, you can sit out in the little patio.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bailie_Nicol_Jarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly, busy and interestingly-decorated with good coffee and tasty cakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Cute decor - mismatched old-fashioned tables and desks with chairs and sofas, antique maps as wallpaper and a lovely outdoor terrace.

We only popped in for coffee and cake (Victoria sponge, delicious) but we would go back again as we were spoilt for choice cake-wise! So many brownies, so little time...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank x_julesybaby_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver's Pantry also viewed

Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Oliver's Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing