We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super hotel, excellent locations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Deanery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Deanery
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super hotel, excellent locations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

We book this hotel as a spur of the moment get away. They had an offer on for 3 course dinner bed and breakfast at a good price, and we were not disappointed. We were met by the hotel owner, who was lovely, and gave the impression that nothing would have been too much trouble. We had a standard room at the front looking out at the cathedral and it was super. Very clean, the decor was nice, and it a had very cosy feel. The dinner was very high quality and it was difficult to pick from the menu as there was a good choice. If you find yourself in Ripon, get yourself a room here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bushbabyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    80
    21
    6
    0
See reviews for
72
235
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

we arrived early and asked if we could just park our car for a while, and were greeted by the owner who treated us like old friends although we had never met before, we had arranged a sunday lunch for my family 7 people in all the food was out of this world all the food is locally sourced and you can taste the quality,everyone commented on the flavour and presentation, the room was warm and comfortable and tastefully decorated with a veiw of the cathedral in the morning the breakfast was up to the same quality as the lunch the previous day on the whole a very enjoyable overnight stay and thanks to the staff and Linda the owner.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slabcracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

Saturday was our sons wedding day, the reception was superb, great food and very friendly and helpful staff, could not have done more for us. Proper full english breakfast to end our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickRipon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

Stayed one night in October 2010. The hotel is a beautiful old building with lots of character. We ate in the restaurant and the food was superb. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the staff and owner were lovely and friendly. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendo97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

The hotel's beautiful, inside and out. We had a very large room looking onto the garden at the back and the bathroom was gorgeous. On the downside, our room had a big spider's web - no spider, but we felt it meant the cleaning wasn't very thorough and also 2 lights in the bathroom weren't working so it was dingy. The breakfast was nice but I didn't like the main restaurant as the food was a bit too trendy for me. My risotto was swimming in cream, which some may like but I didn't. Very good parking facilities, off street. The front of house staff were great and the receptionist went out of her way to help us with a difficulty that had nothing to do with the hotel at all. Really nice of her.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HGA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

We went to Yorkshire back in 2008, after stumbled across Fountains Abbey (how did we not know this place existed?!) we were so impressed with the Abbey and the surrounding area that we decided to hold our wedding in Yorkshire (we're from the Midlands). Having read several reviews about the Old Deanery, we stayed for a 'sneaky' stopover to see the quality of service, food and accommodation. We were equally impressed so we decided to hold our wedding reception at the Old Deanery this Easter 2010.

The service at the Old Deanery has been outstanding not only for our wedding but every time we have visited. Linda, Simone and the team go out of their way to help. The chefs cooked us lamb for our main meal and I've got to say this was the best lamb I've ever tasted (and we've been all around NZ so we should know!) - the meals are outstanding and far better than any hotel food I've ever tasted. This is not just our own opinion, obviously the majority of our guests also stayed at the hotel and our opinion became a collective one. Our guests were bowled over by the relaxed atmosphere, beautiful setting, excellent service and top quality food.

We love the Old Deanery for its charm, beauty, location and independence. This is not a hotel chain and would not be as quaint or as friendly if it ever changed. Yes the floors may not be flat in some of the bathrooms, but isn't that half the charm of an old English building?! If you want somewhere romantic to get away with lovely places to visit locally, I would highly recommend the Old Deanery without a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redheadhewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

We had a very enjoyable two-night break. The room was large, quiet and comfortable - our only gripe was that the old sash window rattled in the wind, which we quickly fixed by jamming a folded piece of paper in the gap. In need of secondary glazing??
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Dinner was to a high standard and just that bit different make it an experience. Breakfast cannot be faulted.
Being within two minutes of the centre of Ripon, the hotel is in an ideal location for the town and the surrounding area, whether you are going towards Helmsley or Pately Bridge with many views, houses and other attractions to explore.
We shall certainly be back in spring.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
11.2 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Deanery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Deanery

Property: The Old Deanery
Address: Old Deanery Minster Road, Ripon HG4 1QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Deanery 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Deanery is a laid back and lovely old building, dating from 1625, full of character, located right next to the magnificent Ripon Cathedral. Inside it is stylish and comfortable. A warm welcome, relaxed surroundings and very good food is what you can expect to find in this small hotel run by the owner, Linda, and her superb team of the finest home grown Yorkshire staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Deanery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Deanery Hotel Ripon
Old Deanery Ripon
Old Deanery Hotel Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing