We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quintessentially English - A Perfect Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Deanery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Deanery
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quintessentially English - A Perfect Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We have just had the most delightful overnight stay here. If you are looking for a quirky, characterful place to chill out in and enjoy beautiful surroundings, fabulous food with charming staff then do stay at The Old Deanery - you will not be disappointed!
We had a spacious room overlooking the garden with a magnificent weeping willow. The bed was huge, comfortable and the bathroom pretty with a lovely slipper bath and lovely important little touches such as the Moulton Brown toiletries and bath robes.
Dinner was really first rate with a superb menu, fresh produce and excellent service. Breakfast the following day was equally good and you really were spoilt for choice as to what to have.
Nothing was too much trouble and you felt completely welcome and relaxed from the minute you arrived. We shall definitely be returning!
David & Jane B.

Room Tip: I would imagine each room is very individual so if you want something in particular it is probably b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaRipon, Manager at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
What a lovely review! All your kind comments will be passed on to all the staff; kitchen, front of house, housekeeping and of course Linda (the owner) on your behalf. I am so glad we made your overnight stay so delightful. Why not come back and try one of our full afternoon teas to fully get the quintessential English experience?! We very much look forward to welcoming you and your husband back here soon.

Kind regards,
Chris - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    80
    21
    6
    0
See reviews for
72
235
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Just got back from 4nights stay at deanery made us welcome as soon as you got there owner very helpfully and friendly staff brilliant just mentioned our light in hall not working and Brett came straight away to fix breakfast is cooked well and fresh we had fried and scrambled egg also eggs florentine which was great one nights dinner and all food brilliant this is our second stay here and we will be back stayed in room 5which over looked the cathedral shutters on window which we left open nice big room and massive bed slept well thanks to all the staff for making our trip so enjoyable

Room Tip: Front rooms over look cathedral and road so if you want quite ask for room over looking garden and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaRipon, Manager at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
It's great to hear you enjoyed another relaxing stay with us here at The Old Deanery. I will pass on all your compliments to the chefs at both breakfast and dinner, and of course Brett for providing you with our outstanding personal service, which is standard for all our guests. Room 5 is a magnificent room and gives you a true sense of the grand scale of the cathedral we are so lucky to be in proximity to, it really is a joy to stay in and I'm glad you had such a good nights sleep! We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Kind regards,
Chris - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
237 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This small and characterful hotel was once the Dean's house, it is now nicely converted to commercial use and not is not chain owned. It is right next door to the cathedral in the centre of the quiet and charming town of Ripon.
It is not luxury or even up market but it is small, clean, functional and with that kind of personal service that one can enjoy from such establishments. One disadvantage of having no lift or air-conditioning and I was on the very top floor.

I would stay there again, albeit it was slightly pricey, because of the friendly but efficient service from the manager who seemed to do everything from check in to check out plus serving a good breakfast. I suppose that is why it is personal, you get to know him rather quickly.

I imagine that most guests would be tourists rather than business, but a company with which I am associated recently put up some important overseas business customers to stay there for almost a week and they made them very welcome which certainly helped to support our business image.

I am happy to give them praise.

Room Tip: A ground or first floor if you can get it to avoid the stair climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaRipon, Manager at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
It is disappointing that you found us slightly pricey and would not consider us an up-market hotel, a view that isn't shared by the majority of our guests here. Each room has its own charm and comfort and I feel that our tailored prices for the category of room reflect this fairly. Unfortunately, as you have stated, we do not have a lift or air-con which is down to the nature of our historic building, making us unable to install these. However, when booking you can choose a room on the first floor if you have any mobility problems and all rooms are equipped with fans during the summer months (and have fixed radiators for those cold winter nights). It is great to hear you appreciated the personal service we give all our guests here, from arrival to departure and I am equally pleased to hear we helped support your business image while accommodating for some of your customers. We do in fact have many business people staying with us regularly as well as tourists to the Ripon area. Thank you for all your comments and we look forward to welcoming yourself, or your business customers back here soon.

Kind regards,
Chris - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights over the Tour de Yorkshire weekend. Room 2 is large and very comfortable overlooking the grounds to the rear. We ate in the restaurant both nights and were delighted with both the quality of the food and the standard of service. If anything, breakfast is even better.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MSHoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaRipon, Manager at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Another short and kind review! Thank you for such nice comments about your stay here. It's great to hear you chose The Old Deanery to stay while Le Tour visited Yorkshire. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Kind regards,
Chris - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We spent two nights in the honeymoon suite and really enjoyed it. The room was huge and had great character and a fantastic big sash window looking out over the garden. The only small negative was that the wardrobe was pretty fusty and needed airing out - to the point where we didn't hang our clothes in it as we thought they would smell afterwards. Not a big deal though.

The staff were excellent throughout our stay - they were really friendly and helpful, and teh whole place had much more comfortable feel than I find you have in chain hotels (I believe the Old Deanery remains family run).

The position is also great for exploring the town - right next to the Cathedral and a couple of minutes walk from the main square. There's a really nice pub for dinner - the Royal Oak - very close as well. I can't comment on the food offered at the Old Deanery itself as we chose to eat out for the two nights we stayed.

There wee a couple of small things at breakfast that could have been better Admittedly we got down for breakfast quite late but there was no fruit left one day and very little the other. They also had Radio 1 playing, and at a volume that was loud enough to be annoying whilst talking.

These are very minor gripes though, and overall we very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaRipon, Manager at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and any issues identified, are minor ones. The wardrobe you have mentioned has had a good airing out as you've suggested, along with all our other wardrobes so no other guests feel the same way upon their visit. It is unfortunate you did not enjoy your breakfast as much as you could have done. It is rare that we play Radio 1 at breakfast and I can only apologise that you found the volume too loud. Myself, along with the other managers are now a lot more conscious about this so thank you for pointing it out to us. I would also like to apologise that the manager on duty during the breakfasts mentioned did not re-stock the fruit sufficiently throughout the duration of service. This is not usually the case and I will pass on your comments to the other staff so we can improve our breakfast service. Thank for you for your kind words and constructive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Kind regards,
Chris - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just got back after a stay at The Old Deanery. From the moment we got there and was met by Grace who was so professional and friendly to the owner Linda and all the staff they could not do enough for us.
The room was fantastic , the food superb. If you want a great relaxing stay you must go here.
First class from start to finish , will definately be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaRipon, Manager at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Such a short, sweet review! I will make sure Grace, Linda and all the staff are aware of your kind comments. Maybe we'll get those 5 stars some day! We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Kind regards,
Chris - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed as a family in this hotel for a wedding. It was great. We were in room 11. The food was excellent, well done Chef. The room was spacious and clean and very well presented. The staff and owner worked very hard to make it a really enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0191crofton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaRipon, Manager at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Another happy wedding guest! We are so glad you enjoyed celebrating a special day with us here at The Old Deanery. I'll make sure the chef is aware of his special mention! We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Kind regards,
Chris - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
11.2 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,407 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Deanery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Deanery

Property: The Old Deanery
Address: Old Deanery Minster Road, Ripon HG4 1QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Deanery 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Deanery is a laid back and lovely old building, dating from 1625, full of character, located right next to the magnificent Ripon Cathedral. Inside it is stylish and comfortable. A warm welcome, relaxed surroundings and very good food is what you can expect to find in this small hotel run by the owner, Linda, and her superb team of the finest home grown Yorkshire staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Old Deanery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Deanery Hotel Ripon
Old Deanery Ripon
Old Deanery Hotel Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing