We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Style Hotel”
Review of The Old Deanery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Deanery
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
clevedon
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Style Hotel”
Reviewed April 14, 2008

I stayed this weekend in this hotel and found it to be a great asset to the owners and the town of Ripon. Centrally located, car parking, great hsitoric building and contemporary individual rooms.

Obviosuly a historic building opposite the cathedral in the centre of town, but the building has been sympathetically renovated and the public and bedroom that I saw where nice sizes and very comfortable.

Due to its general lack of a lift, swimming pool etc etc, (like the usual tick list of things) this hotel is not as highly graded as others, but well worth the additional money over the standard offerings of Harrogate and Ripon. I would say from my expeirnce then you would be looking at a four star on the basis of the room amenities, restuarant, general ambience and location.

Food was excellant and very reasonably priced considering this is a Michelin recommended restaurant as well.

Staff and owners added to the mix well with the owners taking personal attention to make you welcome.

If your in the area and want somewhere nice, central and not run of the mill then this is most definately the place to stay and considering its fourposter beds a great weekend break option on half board.

  • Liked — Facilities and size of rooms
  • Disliked — Plastic cups in bathroom - would have expected glass for this standard of accomodation
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CliveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    83
    24
    6
    0
See reviews for
81
249
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, S. Wales, UK.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

We spent two nights at The Old Deanery last week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Everything is spotless and minimalist in decor. Be aware that the slipper baths with overhead showers are unsuitable for anyone with a dodgy hip! We had to change one of our rooms to one with a walk -in shower. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and is very peaceful and quiet. There are masses of places to visit from Ripon, our highlight was Fountains Abbey. The Hornblower in the square at 9pm every evening is worth a visit.

As well as staying at the hotel we had also arranged a meal for our Yorkshire relatives at the Deanery restaurant. The food was superb and the party enjoyed by all. The chocolates with the coffee were sumptuous as was the rest of the meal. We all agreed that it was the best meal we had ever enjoyed!

  • Liked — The lovely setting and the pretty room.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Earlybirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2007

Had a wonderful stay last weekend and would recommend to anyone. We were on the romance package staying in a lovely room with views over the garden. This is the place to come if you want to relax, spend time doing very little but indulging yourself. The finishing touches made this. The towels and bathrobes fluffy and white. The toiletries of a high standard, the fruit was a mixture including grapes not just an apple and orange dumped on a plate. The floor definately leaned to one side but that made it feel like you really were staying in an old property with character. The place was spotlessly clean and the staff were obliging and helpful thoughout. The grounds are perfect for a meal a quiet drink or just to sit and relax, read a book and listen to the birds. One word of warning, we slept with our window wide open and the dawn chorus is deafening, but oh so much nicer than traffic noise. A place to enjoy, and I hope for a speedy return.

  • Liked — it is stunning, old, and full of character, yet is luxurious.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addicted-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2007

This hotel is great - brilliant location, oodles of charm yet modern amenities and super clean. Very professional staff, and a wonderful restaurant - a must if you are ever in Ripon. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank grosvenor_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, England
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

Go to this hotel and you will not be disappointed......We were not allowed into our room until 3pm as the wedding guests preceding us hadn't left the room on time. This was our only grumble although we were offered an alternative room so this is a very minor grumble that was more than made up for after a most fabulous weekend.
We were in room 10 in the attic overlooking the garden. The room was large with a small but perfectly functioning shower room.A shower that knocked you into next week with red hot water and fluffy towels and robes. A comfy bed, adjustable radiator that had the room warmin seconds, bowl of fruit, bottles of water, a tv and tea/coffee tray with biscuits (no twinings tea you have to make do with Liptons), Molton Brown toiletries, and an electric alarm clock. Sloping floor and ceiling all added to the character but is no good for my husband of 6'4".Next time we will request a high ceiling room as there will be a next time.

Ripon is a lovely old market town with lots of restaurants and coffee shops, shops to peruse and river walks to enjoy. Plenty to do for all ages.The Old Deanery is seconds away from all of this so you can park the car and forget about it for your stay.

Staff are friendly and accomodating and you are made to feel most welcome.The restaurant is the most fabulous place to eat and we enjoyed our best meal ever for variety and quality. There were olives and kettle chips on arrival, a warm cheese froth with the tiniest cheese straws compliments of the chef, warm bread of every variety (fruit and nut bread) with olive oil and balsamic vinegar ready mixed on the table. Then 9 starters to choose from (king scallops and blue cheese soufle were chosen) 8 main courses (loin of lamb and belly pork were chosen) and 8 desserts (chocolate and hazelnut tart and iced pineapple souffle were chosen). Every course was cooked to perfection and there was plenty of it. This was followed by another pleasant walk around the town centre before retiring to a lovely comfy bed.

Breakfast was yet another wonderful experience but being unable to eat a full yorkshire breakfast i had the creamy scrambled egg with smoked salmon which was divine. Thankyou to our Hungarian waitress (sorry didn't get your name) who looked after us a treat both at dinner and breakfast and also to all the other staff who made our stay perfect.

Go go go to this wonderful establishment, we will certainly return.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gatesheadgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2007

Wonderful place. In beautiful surroundings, the building is stunning and amazing to stay in. We had a huge room with a massive 4 poster bed, TV, fruit, water etc. It was my birthday so my husband secretly rang them to arrange chocolates and champagne in the room, which they were more than keen to do for us. The food was beautiful both in the restaurant for dinner and the breakfast menu. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone wanting a quick getaway.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — not much to do in Ripon itself
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireBundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2007

The Old Deanery is well worth a visit. It's packed with original features and the cracks on the wall that somebody mentioned in a review about the hotel just add to the character.

The staff were very friendly and efficient.

We had a three course meal in the restaurant, it was good value and tasty. Great music and atmosphere.

The room was very comfortable, warm and romantic.

I would definetly go again and would recommend the hotel and ripon for a weekend break.

Best hotel I've stayed in.

  • Liked — The origial features and character
  • Disliked — The chiming of the bells in the morning from the cathedral
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
823 reviews
10.2 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
653 reviews
22.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
18.8 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Deanery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Deanery

Property: The Old Deanery
Address: Old Deanery Minster Road | Minster Road, Ripon HG4 1QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Deanery 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make your way up the traditional 17th century oak staircase to find 11 bespoke en suite bedrooms, all with their own individual charm and character. With lovely views from both sides of the hotel and all the modern amenities in your room, you are guaranteed a peaceful and restful stay with us. Dog & child friendly, you don't have to leave anyone at home while you explore the stunning Yorkshire Dales! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Old Deanery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Deanery Hotel Ripon
Old Deanery Ripon
Old Deanery Hotel Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing