We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't try too hard!!”
Review of Squiffy's Wine Bar - CLOSED

Squiffy's Wine Bar
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Serving great wines, beers, spirits all at very reasonable prices. With seating over two floors this quirky little bar is Ripon's other little gem. Over 25's only.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

An excellent little wine bar, cozy and intimate with with a bohemian feel and great service.
Reasonable prices and a good selection of wines. Definitely worth a look.

Steve
Sunderland

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard B, Owner at Squiffy's Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thanks for your review but having the look and feel of not trying too hard is a lot of hard work. Glad you had a good time and thanks for recommending us. Cheers, Mr Squiffy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Squiffy's Wine Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 54 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited squiffys on Friday 26th April for birthday treat for me and my husband. Absolutely brilliant. The food is beautiful. It is only small but don't be put off. We thought this made it more comfortable and inviting. The manager has done a fantastic job with the place and we can't wait to go agAin. Deffinate 10/10
Kelly & Kris x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kelly25marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard B, Owner at Squiffy's Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thanks you two. It was lovely to have you both here and I'm glad you had an enjoyable evening. Maybe the next time you visit we'll have some better weather and you can sit outside in our little garden. cheers, Mr Squiffy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were a group of 4, pre-booked. On arrival the owner/manager was busy cooking with his back to us so didn't show us to a table just pointed at one. We sat down and waited. No service was forthcoming, so we went to the bar to order some drinks. No friendliness, no smiles - you know when you feel unwelcome, well thats how it felt. We eventually had to write our own order down on a pad for him, and I presented this to the owner/manager/chef who informed me we'd ordered too much food in a snappy tone, er ok, well I as we had to write down our order it's a bit much to take that attitude. Food nothing to write home about really - felt a bit reheated. Potato dish mega spicy, and aubergine dish at £5.25 was very disapointing. However, I really enjoyed the cheese dish, and the tapenade was lovely.

I have read the other reviews on here, some recently were scathing. I'm not saying it's that bad, but on the website it is described as a restaurant. It's not. It's a bar that serves food. So perhaps it's best to lower your expectations a little and treat it as such. We had a nice evening but won't return, and as we are locals thats a shame.

I know the owner will reply to this review, and ask why I didn't bring our concerns to him at the time. Well the simple answer is you are not approchable. Your website states "excellent friendly service" we certainly had none of that. Perhaps another member of staff would sort the service issues and drop the attitude as you've done an ace job with the decor - the potential for a really quirky and fun bar is most definately there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank uktraveller977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard B, Owner at Squiffy's Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thanks for your review. I will not give any further response to you but if any readers would like to discuss this review with me then please do so next time you are in the wine bar. Thanks, Mr Squiffy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great for quaffing a few glasses of vino, plus if you feel a little peckish then a selection of tapas are on offer.

Check it out, you won't be disappointed!

Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard B, Owner at Squiffy's Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

What's that song now? 'You're drunk, you're drunk you silly old fool....'. Oh how we laughed! Thanks for the review; short, sweet and very very accurate. You exceptional taste my good sir and it'd be delightful to see you again soon. Cheers, Mr Squiffy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Four of us chanced upon Squiffy’s on Saturday night and thought we’d just pop in for a drink, as soon as we walked in we all liked the atmosphere and the food smelled delicious, we asked if they could accommodate a table of four and the staff were very obliging, we ended up being seated upstairs which was a nice surprise and a great night ensued, the range of tapas really was excellent and we must have ordered at least ten different dishes between us, the Merlot was also excellent. I highly recommend Squiffy’s and will definitely visit again the next time we are in Ripon. We had a fantastic night – cheers Mr Squiffy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard B, Owner at Squiffy's Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thanks for your review and it was really great to see you all on Saturday (along with your lovely accents). I'm so glad you enjoyed the food, the wine, the ambiance and the service we offered you and I really do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Cheers, Mr Squiffy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squiffy's Wine Bar also viewed

 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing