We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quirky little place, fantastic”
Review of Squiffy's Wine Bar - CLOSED

Squiffy's Wine Bar
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Serving great wines, beers, spirits all at very reasonable prices. With seating over two floors this quirky little bar is Ripon's other little gem. Over 25's only.
Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A quirky little place, fantastic”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Love this bar, it's such a quirky little place, or not that little I discovered when I went upstairs. And the 'Rum Gary' was born, Spiced Lambs with ginger wine

Helpful?
Thank MrsMac2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard B, Owner at Squiffy's Wine Bar, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Lovely to see you on Saturday evening and thanks to your partner for being the inspiration for the Rum Gary. His memory will live long in our little bar. Cheers, Mr Squiffy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    7
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“music night !”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

great idea a wine bar with music and it was live but oh dear me frozen food and i mean frozen !! even when we sent it back it returned Frozen!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 59riponcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard B, Owner at Squiffy's Wine Bar, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks for your review which I am very concerned to read. I do apologise for your experience not being what I would hope it to have been. However, did you say anything to any of the team at the time? What was their response to you and how did they handle your concerns? I would really have loved to have seen all of this in your review, good or ill, so that I could have given you a fuller response. Posting a review over two months after your visit really doesn't help me to understand where the problem was and suggest a means to rectify it. I am guessing that you're a local resident so if you want to come in again, make yourself known to me and let me know the rest of the details so that I can sort this out properly for you. Thanks, Mr Squiffy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a Jem indeed........”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

To Mr Squiffy....well what can I say, booked for the first time on Friday 23 Nov, the food and the wines were outstanding, the whole evening was just fantastic, the Atmosphere was just great and you even put live music on for me......., excellent, enough said...........As a certain actor said....I'll be back!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RockApe471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard B, Owner at Squiffy's Wine Bar, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
To RockApe471, it was a pleasure indeed to have you and your partner visit us last week and you really did get into the spirit of the night! Your tambourine playing was magnificent and it will be remembered by all who attended for some minutes to come. Please don't leave it too long before I see you back here again, not least because I want you to write another glowing review. Seriously, please do come back again and it will always be a pleasure to see you both. Best wishes, My Squiffy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I spent a lovely evening in this fantastic wine bar. Excellent wine choice backed up by convivial host only too willing to chat and discuss the wines on offer (and lots of other stuff too!). I wish we had a Squiffy's in Otley! Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BoddingtonManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard B, Owner at Squiffy's Wine Bar, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Excellent review, thank you. i'm glad you enjoyed your time in my little bar and I really enjoyed your company. Also, a big thank you for spending time in Ripon and for all of your kind words about our little city. Try not to leave it too long before we see you here again and keep yourself safe wherever it is you're travelling to next. Best wishes, Mr Squiffy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice ambience”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Really pleasant owner and staff, nice refreshing change to see chef working and constantly washing hands and all equipment.

Helpful?
1 Thank Glynwaxmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard B, Owner at Squiffy's Wine Bar, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your comments, which are helpful in promoting our business. I am glad you enjoyed your experience at Squiffy's and it'd be great to welcome you back again soon. Having the kitchen very visible does ensure that our standards of cleanliness are high, however, our chef is a stickler for keeping himself, his work area and his tools clean in any case but it is great that you noticed this.

best wishes, Mr Squiffy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squiffy's Wine Bar also viewed

 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing