We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly homecooked food.”

The Wakeman's House
Ranked #5 of 88 Restaurants in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Wakeman's House cafe is a traditional tearoom, offering a range of tasty homemade sweet treats - scones, traybakes, sponge cakes, bakewell tart and apple pie to name but a few.Our light lunches include sandwiches, paninis, homemade soups and quiches, toasted sandwiches, oven baked potatoes, pate and ploughmans lunch and afternoon tea.Enjoy a visit to our cafe which is situated on the corner of Ripon's historic market square. We assure a warm, friendly welcome with great service and excellent value for money.
Ripon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heavenly homecooked food.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

An absolute must!! The food which is homecooked from the cakes to the 'special' on a Thursday and the soups, quiches and sandwiches are devine. I've tried them all and keep going back again and again and again. If you are in Ripon. Its the best cafe in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    38
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Dont Walk Past!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Tripadvisor never lets us down. They say you should never judge a book by its cover. My husband and I often decide where to eat because it may look modern and contemporary and offer the promise of wonderful delights inside and then come out disappointed. Without the tripadvisor reviewers tempting us in we would have probably walked past this cafe. I'm so glad we didn't. My husband and I are real foodies but loved the simplicity and homeliness of the food. All home made and lovingly put together. Excellent value for money and a place that we will visit again. The staff were lovely and obviously very proud of their business and the service that they provide.
On our way out we saw a family pondering as to whether to go in our not. I immediately told them that if they didn't go in they'd be missing a real treat.
Well done ladies. Cracking job!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
670 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
“Quaint old-fashioned tearoom”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a very good lunch here. It's fairly plain fare but it's all homemade and the soup and quiche were delicious. A novel idea is that they have a 'cakeaway' - they'll put your choice of their lovely homebaking into a box to take home.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Scrummy cakes, great coffee and very efficient staff”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A lovely cafe on ripon market square. We enjoyed a delicious lunch, which was fabulous value for money! The atmosphere was like home from home, will definately visit again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RiponCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Traditional excellence”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Wakeman's House has to be my favourite tea/coffee shop in the UK as they uphold ALL the traditional values of such establishments without the overkill hype and ludicrously high prices that Betty's manage to get away with. You won't find 50 different types of coffee available here, equally and thankfully there's not a wrap or dreaded panini in sight either. Oh happy days!! Here you will find a toasted tea cake, a round of toast, a scone or the pick from a fine selection scrumptious cakes. The service is a delight, the interior, complete with gingham tablecloths and oak beams is quintessentially English and I sincerely hope that the proprietors will keep things just as they are... simply perfect!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wakeman's House also viewed

Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Wakeman's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing