We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something Rare”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swinton Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swinton Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Something Rare”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

The surroundings, the staff, the food and the facilities could not be faulted. Every single details was accounted for. Nothing was too much trouble. They knew what we wanted, before we wanted it. For a quite and private celebration of our special occasion, we could not have asked for anything more from a weekend away.
Would highly recommend this venue to everyone.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    154
    58
    16
    12
See reviews for
185
767
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Had a really enjoyable evening with 3 good friends as part of a group of 22 people. Wonderful atmosphere dining alfresco in the open fronted deer shed. The service was outstanding and plenty of food which was delicious. Excellent value for money. An added bonus was a wedding firework display which we could see from venue.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Great friends held their wedding reception here, everything was exceptional from the check in after the wedding ceremony yo the drinks, the the wedding breakfast through to the evening food and overnight stay. Would certainly stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

What a fabulous place! We drove through the deer park up to the door and was greeted by a porter who unloaded our car and escorted us to the reception. Our car was then parked up for us while we booked in.The rooms were beautifully furnished with comfortable sofas and lovely views of the grounds. Our bedroom had a four poster bed and large en-suite bathroom and a complimentary tray with mini decanters of gin and whiskey with mixers. My husband had pre booked a joint massage for us and they were the best massages we have ever had anywhere. We also used the wet spa and enjoyed the hot tub and sauna. However the FOOD! Oh what a delight! I cannot tell you how exquisite this was and the wine was just simply superb. We had the set menu but was sorely tempted by the taster menu and will definitely be having it on our next visit. We couldn't fault the food and would recommend the 'flight of cheese' which my husband enjoyed and has raved about since - cheeses matched up with wine/beer and chutneys. The service was first class all round and we will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We booked two nights here, me and my two sons (8 and 6 years old) whilst on holidays.

What we liked:
- certainly the place has presence and loads of character.
- It had excellent staff and thanks to David who showed us to our room and introduced the lovely lilt of "Yorkshire" English (which he is still using to ask for "cup of Yarkshire tea").
- amazing grounds with lovely walks past fields with deer, past lakes and even an old quarry with a small waterfall
- lovely grassed area around the front great space for running around
- we stayed in the Bolton Castle room, which had enough space for a double bed and a roll away bed, so enough room for a family

What could be improved:
The hotel also needs a good update. For the prices they are charging, they are not providing the quality of the fit out expected. Cheap, small, flat screen TV (and not in proportion to the room) with limited channels, linoleum flooring in the bathroom, shower stall too small for the size of the bathroom, the bathroom in general wasn't renovated in keeping with the period of the hotel nor modern...just a mishmash of not quite old/new mishmash, worn carpets, old musty curtains. The games room was also in disarray, with all the sofas due to be changed out, the table tennis table was broken, when we went in at 9:30am, there were still beer glasses not tidied away from the night before, etc) the breakfast range was average, with service a bit slow and range of food a bit ho hum. To be very fair, when we challenged management on the rate we were charge, the did reduce the price to a more reasonable rate.
We also were walking past the birds of prey cages and came across a group with an owl out for a play. We were "moved on" by the bird of prey keeper, as the group were having a private session, which they paid for. We didn't know that it was something that needed to be paid for, so, perhaps they could consider how to separate private sessions from the "general public", as our boys were disappointed jot to be included.

Room Tip: Try to get the best rate to get the best value for money...avoid paying too much unless they have fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SDCTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The property is really beautiful and full of character. We had the most enjoyable walks in the gardens and to the lakes. Many animals make the stroll even more interesting.
We stayed in very large and comfortable Duke Room. I had mixed feelings about the food at dinner in the restaurant one night. But the next day we arrived late and ordered room service and could not have had a more tasty supper. Very well done and high quality ingredients. Breakfast was also very good with a variety of selections. The staff was attentive and friendly.
We had a very good time at Swinton Park and worked as a good base spot for visiting the Yorkshire area and villages.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

was absolutely superb. The Swinton Park Hotel is set in fabulous grounds with superb gardens, lakes and wildlife including some amazing Birds of Prey. The afternoon tea was a gift from a family member and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were very friendly whilst maintaining a professional efficiency.

Afternoon Tea is not something we would normally do but we will definitely go back.

Thanks ever so much to the team....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciaofornow_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
442 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,443 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
731 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
24.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park

Property: Swinton Park
Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Swinton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing