We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Nearby Hotels
The Old Coach House(North Stainley)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moorhouse(Kirkby Malzeard)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Ship Inn(Ripon)(Great Value!)
$73
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn(Ripon)(Great Value!)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,455)
Filter reviews
1,455 results
Traveler rating
1,154
185
78
17
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,154
185
78
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomcookery schoolbirds of preydeer parksamuels restaurantterrace restaurantafternoon teaturret suitetasting menusloe ginstately homebradford roomboot roommorning roomwalled gardentreatment roomsclay pigeon shooting
Filter
Updating list...
1,069 - 1,074 of 1,455 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was given the visit to Swinton Park for lunch and garden talk and tour by my daughter for my birthday. It was a most enjoyable informative event. Susan Cunliffe Lister entertained sixteen of us with lunch and talk about how the garden has grown over the centuries and how she manages it today. A lovely surprise birthday gift. Could have been improved with a glass of wine!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We recently celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at Swinton Park and from the moment we arrived,being met at the door and greeted by name,to the moment we left we felt thoroughly pampered.Our car was parked for us,our luggage whisked away to arrive in our room before we did.There were delicious biscuits and tea/coffee making facilities in our room,the Wensleydale Suite.The three large windows looked over the river and deer park,so tranquil and beautiful.The suite was even better and larger than it appeared on the hotel website.Dinner in the romantic dining room was excellent.The staff were all charming,unpretentious and somehow also managed to be there when needed.Are they clairvoyant?The evening was rounded off by coffee and petits fours in front of the open fire in the drawing room.We also had lunch there the following day and the hotel manager came into the restaurant to wish us a happy anniversary.A really nice touch.So thankyou to everyone at Swinton Park for a wonderful stay.Just one niggle.No towelling slippers in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieL689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stunning location (and I'm sure it would be even more stunning in Summer) and a very impressive hotel full of history. The room was quite spacious but about what I would expect for the price. The room was pretty clean but the hotel in general showed a little wear in places e.g. the carpets in the upstairs corridors.

We attended for a wedding and, like the previous reviewer, found the food to be fairly average both for the wedding breakfast and the breakfast the next morning - I echo the comment about tough beef. Would have expected better quality considering the surroundings.

However, in general it was a very good stay and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishboy25uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were served what I thought was fillet of beef as the main course for my sons wedding. However I found it to be extremely tough and unable to cut it. The small amount I managed was chewey. Comments from about a third of the guests seemed to echo my thoughts and it should have been evident from the amounts left. Apparently some portions were fine. Also the English breakfast available the following morning had apparently been standing for some time and it was cold, as were the plates. This drew comments from other guests at breakfast. It is not difficult to keep plates warm and perhaps cooked items done to order or kept warm if not. However, the staff were pleasant and our room, Beverley, was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 62Jane_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Short and sweet. All the reviewers giving Swinton Park 5*s are absolutely correct. We had the Harrogate room which is at the front on the left with windows overlooking the drive and the deer park. Our dog was well looked after as well and enjoyed the walk in the large grounds with well signed pathways.
A really special place.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the park land
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews