We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I consider my upbringing to be quite privileged but i have never experienced anything as beautiful and luxurious as this! I was attending for a family wedding and we had the entire hotel booked to ourselves. From arrival the whole thing ran smoothly. The staff were efficient and ready to deal with all sorts of problems and special requests. The rooms and grounds were fantastic, and the grandeur of the experience is not to be missed. Despite being early January, the large expansive lounge areas were warm and cosy. The food was great with a reasonable choice, and it was all served to the guests almost simultaneously. The deer were in residence and the birds of prey were an interesting sight. I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a one off luxury experience as it can be a bit expensive. However, touches such as complimentary whiskey and gin in every room is an added bonus.

Also go if your the arty type or enjoy a country walk as the scenery is fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms looking from the main facade seem to be the biggest but then you do have to pay the extra. The...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,305)
There are newer reviews for Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel is fantastic. Very luxurious, albeit a bit fading gradeur but that adds to charm. Fantastic food and service but friendly. Lovely touches like whiskey in a decanter in the rooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Second time we have stayed here and we were not disappointed. Everything is superb: staff, location, rooms, food, ambience. I would come and stay every month if I could. Although its not cheap I feel it represents value for money. I am not sure why its only a four star as I have stayed in five star hotels that are far inferior. Looking forward to my next visit already.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareBSheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

A truly wonderful hotel Everything about it was first class; setting, ambience, staff and food . The general manager was on hand at breakfast time asking if everything was alright which it certainly was
Also items of historical interest abound . No far from the A1 motorway I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnome41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have been to many hotels but nothing matched this hotel. From the moment we arrrived the staff were friendly and helpful. Especially the two young bar staff on Sunday night who spoke very highly of the hotel and how the staff all worked as a team which was very evident.
The bedroom was huge with a very comfortable large bed.
The food was excellent we ate in the bar and the restruant.
The grounds are amazing with lot to explore.
The gardner gave me some great tips about growing vegetables
We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eatallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was treated to a night away at Swinton Park for my birthday and what a wonderful experience it was - from the splendid view of the hotel as we drove through the gates past a herd of fallow deer to the excellent cuisine offered in the restaurant.

As we arrived at the hotel entrance we were greeted by a porter who took our bags and then our car keys to park the car for us. Our stay was off to a good start!

My husband had booked a celebration package which included champagne in the room (named the Aldborough, although I would have called it a suite rather than a room), complimentary Anne Semonin bath and body products, two small decanters, one each of whisky and gin, plus mixers. As well as a main bedroom with a 6ft 6in very comfortable bed there was a small dressing room leading into a huge bathroom containing a bath and separate shower. For use in the bathroom were Molton Brown toiletries, lovely soft towels and bath robes.

Included in the package was dinner in Samuel's restaurant - the food was amazing, as was the wine. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was perfect.

Breakfast was also delicious with plenty on offer. We had the Swinton Park cooked breakfast which included local sausages and home-made black pudding, real tea - leaves and all - in a china pot with a tea-strainer! Again, the service was excellent.

We opted for a 12 noon check-out, so after breakfast we donned wellingtons and coats kindly loaned by the hotel, and we explored some of the 200 acre estate, found two lakes, saw the deer, some pheasants (or were they grouse?), swans, ducks, etc. The hotel's birds of prey were in their aviary but were beautiful to see also.

What more can we say about Swinton Park? Only if you ever get the chance to visit, even if only for one night, please do it. No other hotel could come close to everything they offered and we could find no fault at all.

Swinton Park - a taste of luxury and a complete escape from everything - well worth every penny!

Room Tip: I am sure that every room will be perfect so it really would not matter which one you picked.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We only arrived Saturday 16th Septemebr 2012, for one night B&B in the Scarborough room. Then on Sunday morning, we both had a full swedish massage, one hour in the Spa, just the two of us, then lunch in the bar.
I wont repeat what has already been said. It is one of the most amazing places we have been lucky enough to stay at. Greated by the lovely Rodger as we arrived. The Estate, the hotel grounds and walks around the lakes, just stunning. Our room exqusite, loved the bath in the window. Called for room service to have our drinks delivered, pure endulgence.We were made to feel very welcome and are completely relaxed. The special touches are what makes this place relaxing, complete and the decor amazing. Our bed was like laying imbetween marshmallows, I just did not want to leave this morning. Food was fabulous, as you would expect. I was lucky enough to wake at 2am this am, to find the clearest sky with thousands of sparkling stars, amazing, never seen a sky so crystal clear. I just hope we can return one day and enjoy the experience all over again. If you are thinking of going, don't just think, just book it. You will NOT be disappointed, we weren't.

Room Tip: Check out the website, it shows all the rooms and a description of the views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LydiaCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
472 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
779 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
24.9 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
24.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park Country Club and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park Country Club and Spa

Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: $212 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park Country Club and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swinton Park Country Club and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing