We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last week and have to say it was excellent. We were made to feel so welcome, very friendly staff. We were taken round the building by Roger, who kindly took us around the hotel explaining the history and grounds.
The Duke room called Newby Hall was massive and had all the comforts, including a teddybear (adoptable) sat on the bed, whiskey,gin and mixers as well as tea and coffee making facilities.
The restaurant food was excellent and well presented, served by very polite staff.
The hotel is set in wonderful grounds with lakes.
I definitely want to go back but will be for a special occasion due to the price. Well worth every penny.
Sue G

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greggy6265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

From the moment we arrived up the beautiful curved driveway, the car door was opened for us and we were given a fabulous welcome, there was a car in front of us being unloaded but we didn't have to wait a minute before we were seen to, the luggage was unloaded and we were escorted into the hotel to be welcomed by the hotel manager, check in was faultless and our car was taken away to be parked. Having not stayed here before we were given a tour while working our way upstairs towards our room. The room was the largest bedroom we've ever stayed in and the room functions were explained to us before leaving us to enjoy the room. We had a cup of tea and quick shower before heading out for the evening, when we returned we entered the room to find the curtains had been closed, bed turned down, soft music playing and the cups washed and teas and coffees replenished.

I believe the hotel was full but the room was so quiet we felt like the only people in the hotel which meant we got a peaceful nights sleep in a bed which must have been close to 7-foot wide. Next morning our room had a bath and shower with molton brown toiletries (full size bottles!) Breakfast was served in the fabulous dining room with the most amazing ceiling, service was of course first class and nothing was too much trouble even tho the room was full with guests. Sadly time came to check out and leave this amazing place but again the bags were taken to the car and the car brought to us.

The hotel is beautiful but its the staff which really makes it first class and worth the money - unfortunately for other hotels they will always be compared to swinton park as this place really is special and something to remember for a very long time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Imacuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed in January 2012 for a wedding. Location was fantastic and the whole place is very grandiose. Very helpful staff on to accomodate any query. The room my girlfriend and I had was one of the supposed "lesser" rooms but was still very luxurious in its traditional manner. Great selection at breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeus86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is just the best - the staff are all very friendly, polite, and nothing is too much trouble. Our dog thought he was in heaven with all the fuss he got! The rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished, and the little touches like turning your bed down remind you that you are being looked after and pampered. The restaurant food was out of this world. Breakfast is a feast in itself. Added to all this are the lovely grounds and walks. I love this place and will be back again, and again.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kernewekess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

If you want to be treated like royalty, pampered, taste exquisite food then this is the place for you!! You would have to go far to beat the welcome and the standard of service at swinton park! The rooms are lovely, the building beautiful and the food divine! There is a wealth of things with the spa (you can book a private hour) and all the outdoor country persuits. Can't wait to return for another relaxing pampering truly scrumptious weekend!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Sneaked a one night stay in over half term and as per usual, it was wonderful.
Headlingley room:- Perfect
Bar meal:- Perfect
B/fast :- Perfect
Staff:- Even better then perfect (if you can get that)
If you have never stayed here before, you are missing in my opinion the best hotel in the Uk if not the World.

See you again very soon.

Paul Griffiths

Room Tip: Masham and knaresborough have wonderful views over the river and you can see plenty of deer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myfavebench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed for the 3 day Christmas break last year. Quite simply the best hotel we have ever stayed in, either in the UK or abroad. Everything about it is first class. Arrived to a warm welcome and the service from all the staff throughout was exemplary. The hotel has a charming atmosphere with blazing log fires which was ideal for Christmas. The rooms are stunning-spacious, well appointed with equally large bathrooms. And complimentary whiskey and gin! The food was as good as we have tasted anywhere including Michelin-starred restaurants. All in all a fabulous break. The staff should congratulate themselves. Everywhere ese is going to seem rather mediocre after this.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
798 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,765 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
24.9 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
15.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park Country Club and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park Country Club and Spa

Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: $225 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park Country Club and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swinton Park Country Club and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing