We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as amazing the second time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed in the turret suite 3 years ago and were blown away with Swinton Park Castle. We just got back after staying in the Burton Agnes room. The whole place oozes class from the moment you pull up under the arch at the front of the castle. The rooms are immaculately clean and decorated beautifully. We had a meal from the bar that was served in a small candle lit room that had a real fire. All the food we've had at Swinton Park has been delicious. When we arrived this time around there was a hand written card from the manager welcoming us back and a tube of complimentary chocolate chip shortbreads...brilliant. Highly recommended for a truly special time in lovely settings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,152 - 1,158 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

What a beautiful romantic retreat, gorgeous rooms, amazing food and location. Expensive but worth the money.

We had evening meals here and afternoon tea, was some of the best food I have eaten, the waiters were of a high class and the ingredients were of great quality.

Room Tip: It depends what your budget is, we had a mid price room and it was gorgeous, the bathroom was larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misstyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We have just stayed for 2 nights ,and were suprised it wasn't busier. It certainly should be at these prices for 3 red rosette dining and very good service from a dedicated team

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

2 had a light lunch last week, setting wonderful roaring fire and warm decor in keeping with the period. shame toilets a bit shabby. rissoto very good could have been hotter. pasta dish ok but not what was ordered, service good. not quite "top end" as we were expecting.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed for 1 night after a spa break, from walking in and being greeted at reception things just got better. Staff all polite and attentive,had a cream tea in the drawing room, log fires a perfect winter setting. The room we had overlooked the deer park views fantastic setting. Ate in the restaurant at night setting of the dining room beautiful, staff so knowledgable about the menu, wonderful meal chef knows how to thrill with his menu (only problem you don't feel full but well worth the money).Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and tasters with both meals was a nice touch. Well worth the trip and expense praise to all staff and management for all the hard work that goes into keeping so many people happy.

Room Tip: Try for the Knaresborough room overlooking deer park, plus you are the only ones on this corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackpoolGranmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a 2 day break having seen the hotel whilst walking around Yorkshire.
We stayed in one of the suites, which was well appointed and combined modern facilities with the old fashioned decor of the hotel.
We ate all meals in the restaurant; the food and the service were first class. The grounds and setting are simply stunning, and worth spending an hour or two on their own.
Overall I found Swinton Park to be a 5 star experience and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 519mcnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband bought the Birds of Prey Hunting Day for his father for Christmas (I had bought him it two years ago). I cannot recommend the day enough!! The hotel make the whole thing easy to organize and are really helpful, polite and attentive. Sophie Abbott who runs the day really makes it special; she's really passionate and knowledgable about the birds and wants to answer all your questions. The day includes lunch in Samuel's, the hotels restaurant. This is exquisite. Gorgeous food with second to none service. Excellent day and would do many times again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophieahoult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
798 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
484 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
24.9 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
15.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park Country Club and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park Country Club and Spa

Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: $220 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park Country Club and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swinton Park Country Club and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing