We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value lunch”
Review of The Golden Lion

The Golden Lion
Ranked #8 of 87 Restaurants in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bradford
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great value lunch”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Called on Saturday lunch and went for the 2 meals for £10, great value and quality. Husband went for the pie of the day (steak) and I chose the gammon. Next time we are visiting Ripon we will defiantly stop for lunch or maybe try a evening meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fergie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    56
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Epworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“a golden find”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

With 3 hungry kids on the way back from The Forbidden Corner, we came into Ripon, looking for a pub to have a meal. We have never been to Ripon before and agreed to go the first place we could find. We came across the Golden Lion and were met with a friendly response. No problem allowing us to order off the menu instead of the sunday carvery. Catered for 3 kids who didn't quite want what the kids menu had to offer. We had a lovely homemade pie and the chips were great. Kids loved it and ate everything. Excellent price. Great place and great staff. Would definetly recommend and will call again when that way on.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NLGKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely honest pub food”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The food in the Golden Lion is a must for any one going to Ripon. The scampi is more than generous and is great quality. My partner had the gammon and said it was the best gammon that she had. I would also recommend the hot beef sandwich. The beer is top quality.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and good company”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Having eaten at the golden lion before decided to take visiting family for a meal before they headed home. Rang at the last minute to book a table and let them know we were on our way. When we arrived we were shown to our table and told what the specials were. I ordered the lamb Henry which was perfectly cooked and fell off the bone. The rack of ribs which my mum ordered would of easily been enough for 2 if not 3 of us! The rest of our meals were cooked to perfection and the home cooked chips and onion rings went down a treat. The puddings were delicious as always and the sticky toffee pudding and cheesecake were a lovely end to the meal. My uncle said that he was made to feel welcome by the staff and will defiantly be visiting again next time he is in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tai79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly proper pub”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Friendly service with good value pub food freshly prepared and cheerfully served.
Beer well kept.
Good pub for pensioners - great deals

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion also viewed

Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing