We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai that's hidden!!”
Review of Cafe Thai

Cafe Thai
Ranked #31 of 87 Restaurants in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thai that's hidden!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Once again used the reviews on here to judge the outcome. Was with work friends and visiting the area.
A gamble worth taking though. When walking in your hit with the true image of food before decor!!
True Jem hidden away. Deserves to do well and the food is fresh, tasty and true Thai!! Well worth a visit. As said don't let the look of the place make you miss the taste of Thai !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonce956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    36
    11
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the best thai food in ripon”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

the owner of cafe thai is verry friendly we had lunch time meal and it was fab we wear well looked after by the ower his name sit, the food was well prosenterd dun the way we liked the singha beer nice and cold just as it is best will recommend to anyone to visit when in ripon fab place will go back again, it also as upstairs seating and verry clean place to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, service lacking”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I ate here with my sister while staying in Ripon. Having read other reviews, I thought the reviewers may have been a little harsh, but unfortunately I also found the experience was lacking in customer service. The food was really tasty and freshly cooked, however, despite being the only table in there at the end of the meal, we had to sit there for a while before we could ask for the bill. Perhaps when it's busier you get a bit more attention.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyDebonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leith
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“NOT to Thai for.”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a pretty mediocre meal here. The food was all right but didn't have that mouth tingling taste that good Thai food has. My partner had fish cakes to start and a stir-fried chicken dish for mains, he said the fish cakes was the better dish but neither was anything special. I had Shrimp Tempura followed by Red Chicken Curry and glass noodles. Again, the food was OK but I won't regret being unable to eat there again (we're from out of town). All in all, we wished we'd tried the Indian restaurant a bit further down the street!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank leithheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
1,349 reviews
934 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 651 helpful votes
“Deserves To Do Well”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Took a group there last night and, although the restaurant was quiet, we had a superb time. The owner and his wife couldn't do more for you and it would be great to see a business that cares so much about their customers do well.

The food is fresh, authentic Thai and really tasty. Prices are very reasonable and the service outstanding. If you're out and about in Ripon, give it a go - you'll enjoy it!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Off their P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Thai also viewed

Ripon, North Yorkshire
 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing