We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Ripon north yoprkshire”
Review of Ravencroft B&B

Ravencroft B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ripon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ravencroft B&B
Ranked #16 of 19 Ripon B&B and Inns
Ripon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to stay in Ripon north yoprkshire”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great place to stay, friendly people.
would recommend this B&B to anyone who needs a convenient place close to the Yorkshire dales.
the B&B is located in a quiet spot just off the Harrogate Rd in Ripon.
the people who run it are friendly and courteous,

Room Tip: Simple, book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtv663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We booked two rooms for two nights before we left the USA based on TripAdvisor reviews and their own website. We were not disappointed. Ravencroft is nicely situated in a detached home on a quiet cul-de-sac. The bedrooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped. Trevor was very helpful with maps, advice on where to dine in Ripon and ordering taxis for us (only 5 pounds each way for the four of us). His cooked to order breakfasts were excellent.
The Ravencroft website advertises "Other services include complimentary arrival drinks menu, and usually guests can be driven into the City for their evening meal and drinks for no charge". We were not offered either of these, otherwise it would have been the highest rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was my 2nd time staying at the Ravencroft, the previous time being about 6 years ago. When Shelley and I arrived at the Ravencroft for our 2 night stay,Trevor came out to meet us and remembered me from my 1st visit (nice). Once in the Ravencroft, Trevor gave us loads of info regarding places to eat, things to do etc, then showed us to our room which i must say was very clean, comfortable and well appointed. It overlooked the back garden so was very quiet. In the evening we went into Ripon, a short drive by car or a 20 min walk, for something to eat at one of Trevors recommendations and i have to say he was spot on. The place we chose (La Prima Pizzeria Italian restaurant) was full when we went in so had to wait a short while for a table, always a good sign of good food esp on a tuesday evening. We were not disappointed. our plates were full and the food was excellent. well worth the wait, thanks Trevor. After our meal we went back to the square to watch George Pickles, the Ripon hornblower. Very informative and entertaining.The following morning after a good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed we went downstairs for our cooked breakfast, and it was as good as i remember from my last visit. Enough to last the day with just a snack at lunchtime in Fountains Abbey (a MUST visit for anyone when in Ripon)
Our stay in Ripon, although short was very enjoyable and made even better by Trevor and Kathys hospitality, Thanks again for a wonderful stay in Ripon and hope to see you again soon. Hope you had a good holiday in France.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I booked the Ravencroft as I have family in Darlington and wanted somewhere not too far from them for a weekend Break.

Ravencroft is an easy, pleasant 15 minutes walk from the pretty 'City' of Ripon.
Trevor met us on Arrival and gave us a very warm welcome with a lot of local knowledge, Where to eat, maps, directions and other useful info.
We had booked into the large Sleigh room, which was very spacious, clean and well equipped. Tea, Coffee, Hot Chocolate and Biscuits were also supplied!Bed was very comfy and we slept really well.
The bathroom was lovely and huuuge! We like our hot baths at the end of the day so the bath was lovely, along with fresh towels and lots of toiletries and bubble baths!

The breakfast was delicious (full english for us!)) and Trevor was very accommodating with our requests.

Ripon itself is really pretty. Cathedral is beautiful and we had a lovely walk along the canal where I took some lovely pictures.

We ate out at Mario 27 and the chinese restaurant in the square. both were lovely atmosphere and the food was delicious.

For drinks, we went into the Hornblower, where a bottle of wine was only 6.49 and they had a garden area where we sat and relaxed.

Overall, A lovely weekend and friendly host Trevor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JasonC357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Thanks to Trevor for his excellent hospitality..great breakfast always a bonus!
My wife left her hat behind and it arrived in the post the next day- that's service! Currently ranked 16th in Ripon, but should be much higher.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headteacherhils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at the Ravencroft B&B in Ripon on 3rd April. We received a very warm welcome. The en-suite room was spotlessly clean and comfortable with lots of extras, and the breakfast was excellent with a good choice of menu. Quiet location within easy reach of the city centre. Would be very happy stay there again.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We spent two nights in the Ravencroft I thought it excellent. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed. Super bathrooms. Really good breakfast. Easy access into Ripon. Trevor wan an excellent host. Will use again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bussellsfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.9 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
812 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
460 reviews
8.6 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
761 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
367 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravencroft B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravencroft B&B

Property: Ravencroft B&B
Address: Ravencroft Moorside Avenue, Ripon HG4 1TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing