We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet again .......another great weekend at Riverside Lodges”
Review of Riverside Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ripon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have lost count of how many times we have stayed at Riverside Lodges.......its always lives upto our expectations. We just love the hot tub so we are usually in it in morning, late afternoon and evening. The lodges have always been clean and well prepared. We love the fact that you are left to your own devices and if you need anything Rod is only a phone call away. GREAT set up Rod ..........see you again in four weeks

Room Tip: On the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Dickos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod1927, Owner at Riverside Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your comments,Going to put log burners in the lodges shortly so it will continue to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 178 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stopped in the minster lodge.. Really enjoyed our Friday to Monday break lodge clean bed extremely comfy the hot tub was amazing just remember your own towels, the lodge was very warm and cosy, very private no one bothered you would go back in a heart beat.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod1927, Owner at Riverside Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your review, I do show the girls all comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break and have already booked another in early December.
We really like the set up at riverside lodges and love visiting Ripon .Every time we go we find another reason to visit again and again. We really enjoy the hot tub and really enjoy coffee in the tub at breakfast and booze at night lol.
Please don't hesitate in visiting Riverside lodges at any time of the year.

WE WILL BE BACK ROD,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teeceeHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod1927, Owner at Riverside Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here last weekend for 3 nights and it was just what we had hoped for. We wanted peace, quiet and privacy and we got all 3!
When we arrived a lady was there to check us in, show us around our lodge and how to work the hot tub. We never saw anyone again for the rest of our stay but this was what we wanted. There was a file in the lodge with contact numbers for the owner, info about the area, places to eat etc which was very helpful.
The site is small with only 8 lodges and no reception as such. We were staying in the Studley lodge which is one on the riverside (I would highly recommend these) The decking and hot tub overlook the river and are totally private with fences at both sides. The lodge was very clean, decorated beautifully and had everything we needed. The only thing you need to take are your own towels as only hand towels are provided.
The only downside we felt was the bed seemed a little smaller than a regular double but it was still comfy as neither of us are particularly tall.
We have already talked about going back again next year as we had such a relaxing time and there's lots to see in the local area. Almost don't want to give a good review as we don't want them getting all booked up!

Room Tip: Book a lodge on the riverside, the decking and hot tub are slightly more private in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank HellsBells1482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod1927, Owner at Riverside Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay. We continue to try and improve things. Log burners are the next thing on the agenda. Dont forget you can book direct via our website. Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic 3 night weekend break. Absolutely amazing lodge complete with totally private hot tub overlooking the river. The lodge was immaculate inside with all amenities catered for (but remember your own towels). Both twin and double bedrooms complete with en suite shower room. Just a 10 minute walk into the centre of Ripon, although the lane is a bit dark when walking back after a night out! I would certainly recommend these properties to anyone and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazzle1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod1927, Owner at Riverside Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your review and hope we will see you again soon. Dont forget you can book direct via our web site. Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend staying in the hornblower lodge, it was fantastic. The site is so peaceful and the hot tub was gorgeous. The lodge is lovely and hoeseasons say it isn't on suite, it is, both bedrooms also they say it has no dish washer, it has. All in all of you are looking for a cosy, lovely weekend..I would recommend this site.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsey e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod1927, Owner at Riverside Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. Glad you had a lovely stay and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We came here on our honeymoon after staying at another hoseasons near padstow. We received a warm welcome, and the area was explained to us well and what there was to do. But the lodge looked cheaply maintained and dirty. mold in the shower, holes and marks in walls, bathroom light did not work, clock in kitchen had stopped . Mugs and crockery filthy and sand/grit in the hot tub and dusty cob webs everywhere, I mean everywhere! These seem like lots of little things but all added together let the place down. The road was easy to find but signage was non existent and left us confused.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillyHHandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod1927, Owner at Riverside Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your review.I am sorry you felt the lodge was dirty which concerns me and the two girls who clean greatly. We do take pride in all areas of our park and with it being small with just 8 lodges there is no where to hide. I have shown the review to the girls. I do wish you had brought your concerns to us at the time so we could address any issues immediately. Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.7 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
793 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
479 reviews
19.6 mi away
Flowery Dell Luxury Pine Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
York Lakeside Lodges
York Lakeside Lodges
#20 of 57 in York
172 reviews
20.9 mi away
Westholme Estate
Westholme Estate
#1 of 1 in Aysgarth
788 reviews
7.9 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lodges

Address: Riverside Lodge Riverside Lodge River View Road, Ripon HG4 1JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ripon
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Lodges is a small, exclusive holiday park of 8 lodges nestled on the banks of the River Ure within 10 mins walk of the beautiful, historic cathedral city of Ripon. Wensleydale, Uredale, Studley and Fountains Lodges are situated on the river bank with superb views, individual private hot tubs, each lodge sleeps 4 persons with one double and one twin bedded room both with their own ensuite shower facilities. Set back from the river are Cathedral, Hornblower, Minster and Rowels Lodges. Cathedral is our largest lodge accommodating up to 6 persons in 3 bedrooms, one house bathroom and master bedroom with shower ensuite, private garden area with spacious hot tub allowing guests to relax in private. Hornblower is our pet friendly lodge with enclosed private garden area and hot tub, we pride ourselves in delivering the same high standards of accommodation in our pet friendly lodge as the rest of the park. Hornblower Lodge sleeps up to 4 persons one double and twin bedded bedroom both with shower ensuite facilities. Minster and Rowels Lodges - boast one master bedroom with ensuite facilities - enclosed private area with individual hot tubs for relaxation and privacy for your stay. All the lodges are very spacious have their own barbecue area and are the ideal location for a wonderful quiet relaxing stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing