We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE LOVE IT”
Review of Riverside Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ripon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our 5th visit to riverside lodges and we loved it again. its not just the lodges which are great but the location and Ripon itself.We use all the local facilities,we use various eating venues and even get takeaways brought to the Lodge.there are plenty of great walks and pubs to meet all needs, We have yet to get what we want out of our visits and will return later in the year.When we get back to the lodge we jump straight into the hot tub and CHILL.
We cannot see any point in trying other venues as we just love everything that goes with a visit to the riverside lodges.Ripon is a superb base and has lots to offer......

Thanks Rod

Room Tip: Go for a lodge on the riversde.............
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teeceeHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 177 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

the accomodation was as described and well maintained,the hot tub was ready and waiting!!!
we stayed in the Fountains lodge which was a detached 2 bedroom with each having ensuite facilities.kitchen fully equiped, this lodge was on the riverside giving great veiws. brilliant clear skys at night was memorable while in the hot tub.
10 minute steady walk into centre of ripon for the market and local shops pubs and cafe/restaurants. the cathedral is well worth a walk around.
we used the break to travel up into the aysgarth falls area for walks etc brilliant
friendly arrival, peace and quiet all week bliss.

Room Tip: the riverside views are worth booking early
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawklord61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Me and my fiance have just stayed at Riverside Lodges for 4 nights in Rowels, classed as one of the Wakeman lodges. Instead of blabbering on, thought I'd judge it under three headings; good, bad and suggestions.
Good
Bed size
Nice bathroom
Modern
Spacious
Nice decor
Nice kitchen
Hot tub (although there is only two settings, off and barely on)
Lots of plug sockets
Cleaning stuff provided

Bad
No one about on arrival or for the whole of the stay. Found out on our 3 night that person in charge was on holiday. We had been trying to contact since arriving and weren't informed no one wouldnt be about.
Not having any point of contact
Rotten smell of stale urine in bathroom that we couldn't get rid of all week.
No freezer so all stuff was wasted
No towels so had to buy some (we just expected these two things after previous lodges)
Hole in bedroom wall where someone had opened door too hard and handle has gone through.
Only two coathangers
Partner lay on bed first night and 3 lats fell out, obviously previously broken (no he isn't a fatty!)

Suggestions
Coat rack or hook by the door
Outside light near hot tub needs changing as it flashes none stop.
Blind on front door
Motor in microwave needs fixing as food doesn't rotate because of this.
Cobwebs swept, walls wiped down, splashback for hob, damp on ceiling and nails in wood covered better to match wood rather than just dotted over with filler. Pics of all of these if wanted.
Would return to site but definitely pick a different lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank big_bird_1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

stayed here at cathedral lodge monday 14 friday 18th january. Was greeted as soon as arrived earlier than the check in time and was able to go straight into the lodge. the check in was quick and friendly. lodge was very spacious clean and warm, three bedroom one twin one double sharing a bathroom and a third master bedroom with en suite all very spacious. outside a large area of decking with a nice big hot tub whicj was lovely and warm :) also was very private. enjoyed sitting in hot tub around the snow. we found ripon town lovely and good places to eat like wetherspoons and within walking distance. harrogate was not far to drive and was a good day out. we enjoyed our stay here to celebrate our birthday and would definatly come back again. we had a nice peaceful break and heard no noise from anybody else. no problems at all :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kt1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just spent a long weekend at the Riverside Lodges, we stayed in one of the lodges overlooking the river, it was very clean, very warm and had all the essentials one needs, good size rooms with both bedrooms being en suite. Met by the owner who was very helpful.Ten minutes walk from Ripon centre and good location for visiting other places of interest. Lovely time spent in the very clean hot tub, which was ready to use on arrival. Ate at the Water Rat pub in Ripon a little hard to find but worth looking for!! My only small complaint would be that was no where to hang wet swimwear and towels after using the hot tub. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wesy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in Early January in a riverside lodge. We were met by the owner who gave us a tour of the lodge & some useful tips on the local area eating out etc.
The lodge was as described on the hoseasons website. Very spacious 2 bedrooms both ensuite. Spacious lounge area & well equipped kitchen.
The outside area had a very large decked area with a large hot tub with lovely riverside views.
The location is ideal only 10 minute walk into Ripon.
Will definately be returning.
An ideal place for a really relaxing break. You can get by without even using the car once you arrive.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We arrived for a 3 night break at the Uredale Lodge. Rod the owner was not there so our lodge was left open with the welcome file on the table. The lodge was nicely decorated, not 100% clean (I found a babies dummy underneath my bed), and the carpets / shower tray being black you couldn't see how clean it was or not. The hot tub was very cosy and heated up extremely hot. Our lodge and hot tub overlooked the river which was nice. Unfortunately there were no mats outside to we had to walk 4 or 5 metres over slippery slimey decking to get to and from the hot tub... The kitchen was nice to look at but cupboard doors opened the wrong way, crockery was basic - and there was half an inch of washing up liquid left for us, no sponges and only one drying towel.Bring your own toilet roll too as there was a minimal supply left for us. On the second morning the hot water stopped working and we had to fiddle with the boiler - Rod (site owner ) was away for weekend at a party so we never saw him the whole stay! Rang him to fix the hot water situation - but he failed to reply for several hours...We could not shower so this delayed us for over an hour leaving the lodge for a day out...

The view from the master bedroom was awful, upside down mouldy plastic garden furniture, litter and general neglected weeds and shrubs.. The lodge heated up nicely and parking was ample. One of the lodges had a party until the early hours of the Sunday morning making it hard to sleep. We checked out still not seeing anyone and made our way home. There's a Sainsburys 1 mile away in town - and plenty of restaurants / take aways who deliver. The welcome file was very useful. Would possibly stay here again although we found almost £400 a little expensive for a 3 night mid winter stay. Also we would have preferred white bed linnen - the silky black pattened duvet cover and pillow cases were not really ideal. Overall we'd rate the Riverside Lodges 6/10

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.6 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
470 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
779 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
370 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
663 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#13 of 19 in Ripon
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lodges

Address: Riverside Lodge Riverside Lodge River View Road, Ripon HG4 1JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ripon
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Lodges is a small, exclusive holiday park of 8 lodges nestled on the banks of the River Ure within 10 mins walk of the beautiful, historic cathedral city of Ripon. Wensleydale, Uredale, Studley and Fountains Lodges are situated on the river bank with superb views, individual private hot tubs, each lodge sleeps 4 persons with one double and one twin bedded room both with their own ensuite shower facilities. Set back from the river are Cathedral, Hornblower, Minster and Rowels Lodges. Cathedral is our largest lodge accommodating up to 6 persons in 3 bedrooms, one house bathroom and master bedroom with shower ensuite, private garden area with spacious hot tub allowing guests to relax in private. Hornblower is our pet friendly lodge with enclosed private garden area and hot tub, we pride ourselves in delivering the same high standards of accommodation in our pet friendly lodge as the rest of the park. Hornblower Lodge sleeps up to 4 persons one double and twin bedded bedroom both with shower ensuite facilities. Minster and Rowels Lodges - boast one master bedroom with ensuite facilities - enclosed private area with individual hot tubs for relaxation and privacy for your stay. All the lodges are very spacious have their own barbecue area and are the ideal location for a wonderful quiet relaxing stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing