We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!”
Review of Riverside Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ripon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

I was shocked to read the reviews stating this place was horrible! The comment on the stained carpets was especially strange as the lodges have wooden floor throughout! I dont agree with the comments at all! I arrived home today after out 5th visit and once had a brilliant time! Modern cabins, spotless plus a hot tub! What more could you want? Cannot wait until next year x

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GemmaKelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 177 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

I regularly visit the lodges with my family and we always look forward to our return and are never disappointed. I recently read the negative review below and couldn't disagree more. It is always a relaxing and stress free time for us and i can not wait for our next visit, i highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: I always choose to eat at lockwoods restaraunt during my visits to the lodges as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

loved every minute, lodge itself was great very clean and spacious, we have been to many lodges and would consider this one to be one of the best, rod the owner is very welcoming, and always on hand for help and advise should you need any about the surrounding area, great restaurants and traditional pubs a stones throw away, also lightwater valley and the forbidden corner which is a must are on the doorstep, stayed 13th april for one week and we will defo return, only one downside was the size of the fridge freezer which is intergrated, it was a bit of a struggle as there was 4 adults and 2 children and we were there for a week, however we managed, forgot to ask rod what kind of pillows were on the beds as me and my wife were asleep as soon as our heads hit them, also very comfy mattresses which my in laws who have back problems commented on, 1 week is to short, loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaun g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Just back from a stay at riverside lodges, there was a group of us and we had three lodges booked. Before we set off we googled trip advisor .co.uk, and on reading the last two reviews we were wishing we had not booked and what would greet us when we arrived.

On arrival we were pleasantly surprised as it certainly wasn't what we were expecting. We were greeted by Rod, the owner of the park, who was extremely friendly and helpful. We were given all information we needed on ripon, what to do and the surrounding area. We were shown to our lodges. Which were; minster, cathedral and studley. We found to lodges to be very clean, comfortable and well equipt.

We are very pleased we ignored the two latest reviews as the hospitality, accommodation and surrounding area were fantastic and we cannot wait to stay and visit riverside lodges again in the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebeccaandrob20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Not very clean at all pans kitchen in gen mucky have been to a few lodges and this is the worst save you money and go to a nice one saying that this is not cheap just cheaply maintained

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frazel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We visited the lodges in Feb 2011and really enjoyed ourselves.We vowed to return and did so in early Dec 2011.Yet again we loved the time spent in and around the lodge and walked into Ripon several times.The hot tub is ace and makes the evenings special.
The lodges are well maintained and Rod the owner is a nice guy with nothing to much trouble for him.
We will return again in Feb 2012 and don't doubt we will have a great time once more.There is plenty to do in Ripon and lots of nice areas to walk to and from.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teeceeHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Me and my husband stayed Fri 21st until Mon 24th October 2011. We arrived 4 hours early and was greeted by Rod the owner, what a lovely, geniuene and just really down to earth man. Check in wasnt until 4pm and we arrived at 12pm but Rod give us the keys early. He shown us round, advised us of the best places to go and was very helpful. The cabin was Very clean, tidy and cosy as we wished! Bbq and gas is included in price. The hot tub was amazing, the colder the day/night the better the hot tub! We walked into Ripon every evening which took ten mins at strolling pace. Booking again for next year definitly recommended to go!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalieclegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ripon hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
785 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
475 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
371 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#13 of 19 in Ripon
101 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lodges

Address: Riverside Lodge Riverside Lodge River View Road, Ripon HG4 1JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ripon
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Lodges is a small, exclusive holiday park of 8 lodges nestled on the banks of the River Ure within 10 mins walk of the beautiful, historic cathedral city of Ripon. Wensleydale, Uredale, Studley and Fountains Lodges are situated on the river bank with superb views, individual private hot tubs, each lodge sleeps 4 persons with one double and one twin bedded room both with their own ensuite shower facilities. Set back from the river are Cathedral, Hornblower, Minster and Rowels Lodges. Cathedral is our largest lodge accommodating up to 6 persons in 3 bedrooms, one house bathroom and master bedroom with shower ensuite, private garden area with spacious hot tub allowing guests to relax in private. Hornblower is our pet friendly lodge with enclosed private garden area and hot tub, we pride ourselves in delivering the same high standards of accommodation in our pet friendly lodge as the rest of the park. Hornblower Lodge sleeps up to 4 persons one double and twin bedded bedroom both with shower ensuite facilities. Minster and Rowels Lodges - boast one master bedroom with ensuite facilities - enclosed private area with individual hot tubs for relaxation and privacy for your stay. All the lodges are very spacious have their own barbecue area and are the ideal location for a wonderful quiet relaxing stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing