We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Drakes Fish and Chip Restaurant and Take Away
Ranked #24 of 88 Restaurants in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The best Fish and Chips we have had for a long while. We have eaten here before, some 5 years ago, and that was memorable. Nothing has changed. A little chilly in the restaurant but it was a bl**dy cold night!. We loved our meal and wished we lived closer. Give them a go and enjoy your food as much as we did. Regards.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    30
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Average taste and portions”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Fish and chips used to be much larger portions and you don't seem to get much for your money. Tasty but you feel hungry afterwards.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy6466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We ate here after a long day at Lightwater Valley, and were so pleased we did, delicious Fish and Chips and fantastic service, we had 4 children with us all under the age of 5years old, the waitress was very friendly and service fantastic. Best Fish and Chips had for a long time,

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 81Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely fish and chips”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Had a very nice meal here and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We all enjoyed the food and was reasonably priced. Over all I would recommend this restraunt

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank salsadip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cooked whilst you wait.”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Always a popular Fish n Chip shop in Ripon,went downhill a while back(especially the restuaraunt) but on a visit last week it seems to be coming back to an acceptable standard.All fish is cooked to order which my wife and i prefer.

Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drakes Fish and Chip Restaurant and Take Away also viewed

Ripon, North Yorkshire
 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Drakes Fish and Chip Restaurant and Take Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing