We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views,tranquil water”
Review of THE WATER RAT

THE WATER RAT
Ranked #18 of 91 Restaurants in Ripon
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At The Water Rat in Ripon, North Yorkshire, we are open Tuesday - Sunday from 11am- 11pm. Serving Food 12 - 2:30, 6 - 9:00 Tuesday - Friday, 12- 3:00 & 6-9:00 Saturdays, 12 - 4:00 Sundays. Our friendly team look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Outstanding service ,food cooked to order at a very high standard, staff eager to please and service outstanding .Dinning is available in this riverside restaurant, and then you can sit on the river bank and while away the hours in the sun

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Julieann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 337 of 415 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a great Public House in a wonderful position by the River about a five minute walk from
Ripon. It has great views of the Cathedral . On rainy days sit in the conservatory and watch the river flow by. A good selection of beer at the bar and a good menu. The staff are always friendly and the food tastes great and is good value . We always make a point of eating here when we visit Ripon .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john_m190767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

i recently came here for a drink and meal,hadnt been for about three years.cheap pub grub,quite big menu,wednesdays look amazing value!two courses for two people for a tenner! need to try that! the best thing about the water rat is the view,when sitting in the conservatory or outside,you are next to the river and the cathedral is in full view.when i came here often,a few years ago,when you ordered your food,they gave you a plastic black rat with your table number on,it was quite funny but they dont seem to do that anymore. roger clarke harrogate may 2013

Thank big_rog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Sunday afternoon. Place not even half full. Miserable member of staff at the bar. Service was absolutely shocking. Didn't even get some of the items we ordered. Had to get out own drinks from the bar and even order desserts at the bar as the servers ran around making excuses as to why they didn't know the answers to basic questions nor were they able to clear plates away in advance of the next course coming. Not the cheapest place in ripon. And to be honest. You don't get what you pay for. Used to be brilliant. Now. Not so much. Didn't even get asked 'is everything ok'. Lucky really, I was in the mood to vent and rant. Probably will return for a drink when we walk along the river. Will avoid the restaurant tho. Inept.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Raymondoitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick J, Owner at THE WATER RAT, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thankyou for your feedback. I have tried to contact you to gather more information as this complaint was not recorded in our change over diary but have not been able to get hold of you.

Although the pub may have been half full on Sunday we do average 70-100 every Sunday lunch and so this is an extremely busy day for us. This was also a bank holiday weekend where stocks do unfortunately run low. We are also in the process of training staff so will work on their customer care skills.

I do however disagree with your statement that we are an expensive place to eat. Our prices are very competitive we offer good value home cooked foods. Many of our main courses are 2 for £12.99 and our desserts are 2 for £5.99 . We also provide a Wednesday offer which is 2 mains and 2 desserts for £10. A meal out on these prices I would say is very affordable. I would also mention that our bar prices are compared regularly to many ripon outlets and are on par with those (excluding of course big chains).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Two hours for two courses! Average food and extremely slow service. The waitress asked if everything was alright, we replied no, as we had to wait 30 minutes between courses, she argued that it was only 10. Don't argue with the customer! We weren't the only disgruntled customers, as the table next to us didn't even get the starters they ordered. On a positive note, we were entertained while we were waiting, by the ducklings on the river.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosetta57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick J, Manager at THE WATER RAT, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely busy on Saturday nights and we always try to accommodate customers as much as possible, as you are aware from your previous meals here. However with your guests late arrival your order was placed in the height of service. Your table was booked for 6:30 then postponed until 7pm however it was closer to 8pm by the time your guests arrived at which point our kitchen was at capacity.

The Waitress tried to accommodate you as best as possible and I am sorry if you felt that she handled this in a disrespectful manor.

In regards to the table who 'did not even get their starters'. This was an error on one of the staffs part who we are training at the moment and was an unfortunate incident where one starter was missed off the order.

However I am glad you enjoyed the view. The ducklings are lovely this year and we hope you come back and visit them soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed THE WATER RAT also viewed

Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to THE WATER RAT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing