We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (932)
Filter reviews
932 results
Traveler rating
432
299
131
49
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
432
299
131
49
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews turf tavern bar bistro faded grandeur traditional hotel croquet lawn gardens are beautiful dog friendly hotel some tlc lick of paint lovely hotel four poster bed sunday lunch kippers twin room town centre three nights breakfast was excellent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 932 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely hotel a bit dated and needs a lot of work but the staff are fantastic. The food is delious highly recommend!

Nothing is too much for the staff I'm sure we'll be returning in the future since all of them went out of their way to make sure we had a fabulous time as a group!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel, though dated, is lovely, but the staff really make the hotel what it is. The service is outstanding and the staff go above and beyond with there kindness and hospitality. The rooms are spotless and the breakfast and tea is lovely.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019

This hotel has the potential to be lovely, but it needs a good deal of money spending on it. Our room smelt musty and felt dated and unwelcoming. Everything necessary was there, though.
Service overall was fine, but not particularly welcoming - especially on Reception. A few signs would help visitors find their way around more confidently. We chose to eat out as the entire lack of atmosphere in the bistro, and the very unimaginative menu, was not encouraging. Breakfast was pretty good.
Overall, it was reasonable for an overnight stay, but I don't think I would hurry back.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Angel1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019 via mobile

Wow they have let this place go, shocked how tatty and grubby it is now
Pant and wall paper pealing off ...IN public spaces
Staff as old as building
The where thing was only 2 rooms left when we booked ????
Only use if can't find else where

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank megadpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

The hotel is well placed for town centre but has extensive green space, well maintained around and good car parking. Rooms and public areas well appointed but with reflection of this lovely building’s period and style. Terrace is a good location for tea or drinks, especially if a serious croquet game Is underway. Food is good with good choice. Beds comfortable and linen, pillows all good. Our bathroom was spacious with over bath shower. Staff kindly and helpful. Breakfast good as a day starter!

Room tip: Third floor overlooking garden was very peaceful.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosmopolitan753907, General Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Thanks so much for a super review! The croquet players will be looking forward to a well earned rest as the Autumn draws nearer. Please do keep an eye on the website for some great deals in the next few months.
Regards
Samantha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews