We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs air-conditioning!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ripon Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2006

We were booked into this hotel to attend a wedding in town. Bedroom was spacious enough with a double bed, two chairs, dressing table, and a good-size cupboard. The modern bathroom was a nice surprise with a very good, strong shower and bath.

Cleaniless was topnotch. The only complain I have would be the heat. Not sure whether housekeeping/previous guest was to be blamed, but the radiators were left on full-power when we checked in, and we almost passed out when we entered the room. Even after the room had cooled down, the room was still very warm, as were the rooms that our friends were in. No A/C even though I was hoping for it at the price we paid.

I have no complaints about the staff, they were friendly and helpful enough. Breakfast was an absolute treat, and served in a lovely restaurant.

The claustrophobic lift was a bit scary. But it's only 2-storey high, so it wasn't too much hardship to walk it.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mystie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 801 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Matlock, Derbyshire, England
14
Reviewed March 13, 2006

We recently stayed at The Ripon Spa and disagree with all of the other reviews here previously posted. The bedrooms have been recently refurbished as well as the ballroom where we dined very well (large portions and reasonable prices). Some of the comments we read on Trip Adviser about not using Mobiles in public areas we think are not fair as it is well signed that to respect others in the restaurant and lounges you are requested to take calls in the loverly old telephone booth (or outside!). Checking out at reception is not available before 8am but again you are advised to settle your bill before 11pm if you need to depart early, which we didn't as it is only a 5 minute walk past the spa gardens to the market place and beautiful cathedral. We found Ripon very picturesque and only a few miles from Fountains Abbey which we also visited. As to price we shopped on the Internet and found a very good "Winter Warmer Deal" and hope to visit the again in the Summer months to see Harrogate in bloom.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Leeds
16
Reviewed February 28, 2006

My wife and I stayed in July 2004, the inside looked tired and in need of renovation,carpets threadbare etc

Our first evening meal I found a live bug in my sherry trifle. My complaints were dealt with by staff and I never saw the owner - -- we left next day.

A letter of apology was sent to us by the owner after we returned home.

This is something I have NEVER experienced in any hotel previously.

We used to be regulars at this hotel but never again.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2005

A few colleagues and I stayed at this hotel recently to attend a conference for a few days. I agree with other reviews that the place is very tired looking and is in desperate need of a revamp. The bedroom I was in was huge and well fitted out which was a bonus but once you stepped into the hall and communal areas you were immediately brought back down to earth.

The main problem was that I tried to check out at 7.45 am to get to a meeting but was told that it's impossible to check out between 11.30pm and 8.00am as the reception is closed! Apparently there is a notice to this effect in the bedrooms but I would only have got to my room about 11.30 the previous night so it wouldn't have helped me anyway. The staff didn't seem to find it odd that you physically are unable to check out before 8am! There is literally no way round this! I have complained and had a very mediocre response from the hotel.

Whilst there I also went to make a call on my mobile, while in the reception area (not the dining room or anywhere usually designated as 'quiet areas') and was unceremoniously asked by a staff member 'is that a mobile I see!'? Clearly it was and I was then told that it wasn't permissible to use a mobile anywhere except the bedrooms. My colleague said he wasn't aware of this either, that there were no signs to this effect, and we were told 'well, it's always been like this!'. Hmmm. As if we knew that!

This is the tone of the whole hotel -'it's always been like this' so they don't change with the times. We paid £100pppn and it definitely wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SiobhanMcGui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2005

We stayed for 2 nights. The room overlooked the lawns and had a four poster bed. We were on the second floor and the room and corridor was very warm. Residents were offered fans for their rooms.

Bathroom had a thin (modern) radiator which could be turned off, but the pipes leading to and from must have been 2" in diameter and were hot!!

We had 2 B&Bs + evening meals as a special deal. The breakfasts and evening meals were excellent.

The quality of service and general ambience of the dining room were very poor. Staff need training, the dining room needs partitioning at quiet times (far too large) and could do with some background music. The sound of silence, punctuated with the niose of an air-conditioning unit made for a 'doctor's waiting room' experience. The occasional crumb from the previous meal could be seen on the floor.

An interesting experience. Perhaps with more people in the dining room and during a colder spell, we may have felt better about staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dardle234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dubai
114
Reviewed February 5, 2005

The hotel interior is looking tired but the front office staff were friendly and helpful.
I stayed over a weekend in early January and the visit coincided with a wedding reception at the hotel.

Having returned late from a function myself I found my room was in the middle of a party with noise from rooms at the side and above.

This went on and on and eventually I had to call the manager to complain. This worked, but of course not without anxiety.

Breakfast was good but again the surroundings a little tired.

At 95 pounds, not what I would consider good value.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kroll37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.4 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
491 reviews
8 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
880 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
793 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ripon Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: $80 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing