We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Non-corporate Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ripon Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ripon Spa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Non-corporate Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Independent hotel on edge of city centre. We got a fee upgrade to a superior Tom that was huge and came with an equally large bathroom. Restaurant closed on day of our stay but we ate in the lounge bar. Good quality plain cooking and generous portions. Theakston's real ale in this bar.
Would definitely recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Starcrossjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    237
    79
    37
    14
See reviews for
120
341
23
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

What a gem by no means "little" expansive range of Public Rooms all beautifully decorated & ornate. Present owners have attempted to keep this traditional with little touches to enhance your stay. All staff very very attentive and helpfull. Did not partake of the Dining facilities available but the breakfast was superb lots of extras such as kippers, Smoked salmon were on offer.We made a last minute decision to visit Fountains Abbey plus stay over. On both counts we were winners Fountains Abbey was enjoyable, but our stay at Ripon Spa was excellent.
Will stay here again great location for the Races, Tour De France base or just to break your journey. Sat Nav works well but perhaps the new road layout could be shown on web side plus how near you are to the Baths would assist finding this location.

Only negative point to be picky was limited choice beer & lager lack "Real Ales" forgot to mention to reception if this was under review with possible chance of guest ales

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have four Posters, others views of the extensive gardens, we stayed on second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JefandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
It’s good to know that you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the tip about our web map. We have featured guest ales in the past and should certainly consider them again. If you do decide to come racing in Ripon, I would recommend you take advantage of our great deal on race badges, 2 for the price of 1, when you book direct with us - but don’t delay rooms sell fast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

2 out of 10 for this tired place. Dirty stained head boards on the bed, rotten windows,dogs barking in the hotel, noisy guests banging doors and shouting down corridors well after midnight, food just about ok. Will not be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Oh dear! I had hoped that you would have replied to my email with the date of your stay and room number so we could have investigated properly. We are so sorry you had this experience and our MD, Samantha, would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your review in person, so do please get in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Ripon Spa Hotel is a superb traditional venue to host a 50th Wedding Anniversary. The park and lawns surrounding the hotel are enchanting, a visual ;pleasure. The large dining room and secondary rooms provide air and space and comfort. Our meal was outstandingly good. And just as good was the waiter/waitress service who were quick, polite and anxious to give their best. The hotel and catering management staff obviously had lots of experience since everything went like clockwork. There is a wonderful quiet rapport between staff and their clients - quite exceptional in these unusual times. One is aware that there is no time pressure and every request is dealt with quickly and extremely effectively. Whatever the function it would be very difficult to get a better venue or better service. And all at a very reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on this point since it was a wedding anniversary
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your review - it was a great party! Rita and her team are delighted to have helped deliver your perfect golden wedding celebrations, congratulations again from everyone at the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainhill
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have always wanted to visit Fountains Abbey a National Trust place near to Ripon Spa Hotel. We chose the Ripon Spa as it was close by and what a lucky find it was. It was a lovely surprise to walk in the room and find a four poster bed. The room was spotless and the bath towels were exactly that and not the size of a tea towel. We booked dinner at the Hotel and the food was excellent as was the breakfast. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 19Susan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is the tenth time we have organised a weekend holiday for Country Dance aficionados. We booked 60 places and as usual, the staff looked after us very well. We had dinner on Friday and Saturday evenings, with a full menu choice both times. Breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday were self service, and plentiful, with a wide choice of good quality, well-cooked local foods. In addition, we had morning coffee and home-made biscuits, a soup and sandwich style lunch and afternoon tea and biscuits. The hotel has an excellent, well maintained ballroom floor, which suits our needs perfectly. The feedback we have received as organisers, has been excellent. Staff are always helpful and accommodate individual needs willingly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and your continued loyalty to the hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming your group back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We enjoyed a fantastic 2 weeks at the hotel with my 2 boys, my husband and the dog. The room was ideal for all of us very clean and comfortable beds and spacious, the service we received was outstanding could not fault it, the staff were outstanding, very friendly and family orientated, food in the turf bar was fantastic, the staff were outstanding very friendly couldn't fault the food at all.
My 2 boys felt at home staying at the hotel to the point that they didn't want to leave.

Thank you so much to all the staff at the Ripon spa hotel you all made my stay at the hotel the best experience ever.

I would recommend this hotel to any one visiting Ripon and surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
It was our pleasure to provide a “home from home” to you whilst yours was undergoing renovation – hope the workmen left it clean and tidy! Do pop in any time - we will always have cheese on the menu for a certain young man!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.4 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
8.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,398 reviews
10.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ripon Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Property: The Ripon Spa Hotel
Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing