We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first rate service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ripon Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“first rate service”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

just had two nights stay on a bridge holiday.Nice accommodation and food ok but I found the best thing about the hotel was the service . I am not fond of sauces on meals and asked if I could have gravy instead and the lovely waitress called Pauline arranged for a special serving of bisto gravy served separate in a gravy bowl . She did not make me feel that it was a bother . hope we have the holiday again next year as it has been arranged for quite a few years,

Room Tip: ask for a recently refurbished room facing croquet lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
It’s always a pleasure to welcome your bridge group back. We do try our best to grant special requests whenever possible. It just so happens that a regular customer insists on Bisto gravy with his Sunday lunch, so Pauline was able to arrange your special serving. I must say however that there are other gravies available and our own, homemade from stock, is very delicious!! Hope to see you again next October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    239
    81
    40
    14
See reviews for
121
349
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

the picture of the hotel must be old or touched up as it doesnt look quite as bright as this,however staff were great and the food was bang on,being woken to people playing croquet on the lawn was something i had never had before,the grounds were well tailored and staff arranged all transfers to the racecourse for me,i would stay here again but they could do with an exterior make over of the building

Room Tip: go for the cheapest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
The 2014 fixture list for Ripon Racecourse has been published so we would love to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for my husband's Birthday and had a really lovely time. Booked a double room which turned out to have a four poster and overlooked the gardens which was an unexpected bonus! Hotel was a bit dated but very clean. Spent a full day in nearby Harrogate which we really enjoyed. In the evening it was a five minute walk into Ripon, where we had drinks in the Black Swan and an enjoyable meal in Mario's. Would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trefriw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Ripon Spa is ideally situated for the town and areas surrounding Ripon. The staff are polite but not overly friendly, which is OK since I don't want to be fawned over. The standard of catering was OK, we attended a dinner at the hotel and the fixed menu was adequate and reasonably well presented. What let's the Ripon Spa down is the standard of its décor; the fabric of the building is dated and in urgent need of refurbishment. Windows are single paned glass in decaying wooden frames, elsewhere paint is chipped and wallpaper tatty. The floor covering in our bathroom was also ripped. The rates charged exceed what the hotel delivers.

Room Tip: Ask if or when it was last updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellor29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Many thanks for your valuable and constructive feedback. It is important for us to know when we have failed to meet expectations and where we can make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed overnight here when attending a friend's birthday lunch. A delightful, friendly old hotel, the staff were pleasant and very helpful. Our room was very comfortable, and the food at lunchtime and breakfast was top quality. Weather not very good, so we did'nt manage a walk in the gardens. We know Ripon fairly well and attended a wedding reception at the hotel 30 years ago, and found our surroundings as charming as ever. No complaints about the decor - we found all the rooms/facilities we used to be of a high standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelagh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Booked this hotel without doing research (actually it was my husband who booked it, I would have checked on TA first !)

We arrived hours before our check-in time so parked up and went for a walk into Ripon town centre.

We then approached it on foot from the Spa gardens at the side, which brought us into the side of the Hotel's gardens. Very impressive, people playing croquet made it look like something out of a setting from 'Miss Marple'

The room we were in, the soft furnishings and furniture were very nice. There was masses of space ( we booked a twin room ) but the paintwork was in need of urgent attention (there appeared to be something growing in the corner of the ceiling). The public areas all looked very nice and had all the period features. En-suite was dated and the shower was a power shower with hardly any power - just a dribble really and the shower screen didn't meet the bath by about an inch, so if the shower did work at a force then I think the bathroom may have flooded.

The heated towel rail didn't have a temperature control, so I presume it only works when the heating is on.

We always book a hotel which has free internet as we use it a lot for finding local eateries (menus so we know what they serve), pubs (so we know what beers they stock) and local attractions. Also directions to get to all of them. This hotel said Free Internet. It lasted for a maximum of about 30 seconds at a time, before it bombed out and it was very hit and miss at that. So we went for a walk to the centre, which was only about five minutes away and after wandering up the river, found a very nice pub called The Water Rat (see my comments on TA), which served good beer and excellent food.

When we booked into the hotel, we were told there was a function on the Saturday night which was on until 2am, but it didn't disturb us too much.

Don't expect it to be a Spa hotel just because it is called The Ripon Spa, there isn't a Spa or pool, but there is a lovely Edwardian public swimming baths next door if you want to pay to use it.

This hotel isn't cheap, about £110 a night for a double room and I think for that, I would expect a little more refinement.

Breakfast, unlike some of TA's comments, we found to be lovely, it was hot and as-much-as-you-can-eat. Mind you, we did eat as soon as it opened, so maybe it didn't have time to dry up.

Room Tip: Stayed in room No. 10, it was a twin room overlooking the spectacular gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for your review and sorry you had some issues with the bedroom/ensuite - the Head Housekeeper is investigating (but assures me nothing is growing in that room!) You will be pleased to hear that we are upgrading to superfast broadband to offer a quicker and more reliable internet connection for all our guests. Hoping that you will take advantage of one of our special offers and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We held our Silver Anniversary Party at the Ripon Spa Hotel on 29 June, 2013. We had a guest list of 75 and an age-range of 18 months to 84. Most of our guests stayed at least one night; many stayed two or three nights.

The reason we chose the Ripon Spa Hotel was it's great location - central to all our friends in the UK, from Scotland, Newcastle, West Country down to London and the South Coast - and we had happy memories from a brief stay there in the 1980's. It was affordable for everyone.

Right from our initial contact, the level of service was fantastic, being both responsive and helpful. We live in the US so all arrangements needed to be made by phone & email and making the arrangements was made easy for us. During the weekend, every member of staff we (and our guests) dealt with was courteous and friendly. It was important to us that our guests enjoyed the whole weekend and after it was over, we only received 100% positive feedback from them. We heard many instances from our guests about acts of kindness and service from individual staff members. Everyone's needs were happily met (we are vegetarians; some guests require gluten-free; dogs; directions; room adjustments etc.).

The Ripon Spa hit the right note of being a great venue and grounds, but without the stuffiness - everyone could relax and enjoy themselves. For example, during the afternoon, we ran a large-scale treasure-hunt throughout the grounds and the staff were bemused but accommodating!

The weekend was a great success - due in large part to the Ripon Spa Hotel and its staff. Thank you very much!

Ali & Phil

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Glad to hear everything was perfect for your 25th anniversary party!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
18.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ripon Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Property: The Ripon Spa Hotel
Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing