We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant dog-friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ripon Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Betws-y-Coed, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant dog-friendly hotel”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were looking for a good dog-friendly hotel at short notice - the Ripon Spa Hotel had availability and were very helpful with our booking.
We arrived quite late, but were still able to have food.
The room was very spacious and the lovely grounds were ideal for our dog.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxed atmopshere in a grand style hotel.

Room Tip: As there was availability, we were able to have a very large corner/end room, which was great with u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamsynGallimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    240
    82
    40
    14
See reviews for
121
352
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Room was very elegant but updated as was the hotel. Only area that needs a good uplift is the front and recpetion so gives a false poor first impression. Restaurant very grand and enjoyed eating there although had to sedn some food back as cold but this was rectified without any fuss. Grounds very nice too. Would go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markonemillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

A nice Hotel with friendly staff, however in need of refurbishment.
I stayed on business for a couple of days and it was very homely and accommodating.
Breakfast was good an the adjacent Bar / Restaurant was welcoming and good value for money - recommend the burger with double cooked chips! Grounds look fabulous and just a couple of hundred yards out of the main town. Therefore a quiet location but with very good access to the delightful and picturesque city centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for your review - our burgers are delicious and made from 100% British beef!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked for my wife's birthday weekend and were given a lovely room overlooking the garden. A request from my daughter that she be given an adjacent room, made only that morning, had been acted upon. We dined and lunched; both meals were delicious and all other aspects of service were provided with grace and speed. The staff could not have been more courteous or attentive, making the whole experience a delight

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy_Brown53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Glad to hear the birthday weekend was a success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

As you enter Ripon there is a sign which asks you to "Stay awhile Amidst Its Ancient Charms". It is the charm of the Spa hotel which has had us returning for almost 40 years. On this occasion, celebrating a family birthday, one of the younger member of the group summed it up by saying how much he liked English provincial hotels for their individuality and personality.

The Spa cannot be compared with the corporate chains which offer every gimmick but essentially only want to take as much money off you as possible, seeing individual service as a disruption to their schedules. At the Spa you see the same staff time after time and they genuinely want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. (Special mention to Janet, the receptionist, and Philip, front of house, for dealing with all manner of little extra requests to make our weekend feel special.) We are prepared to accept the odd squeaky floorboard etc. in exchange for this homely feel and service.

It is a cliche, but coming back to the Spa is like seeing an old friend again- we simply love this hotel. The food is excellent, accommodation comfortable, setting beautiful and service attentive. Only people with no soul could dislike the Spa.

Room Tip: Just give the reception staff your requirements and let them sort it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank starryeyed_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your heartwarming review and it has been our pleasure to welcome you and your family to the hotel for so many years! Janet and Phillip are delighted to have been specially mentioned and send their best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed for two nights on special offer. Booked the hotel solely because they accepted dogs(plenty of other dog owners there). Room very good and comfortable, of the period not corporate style. Windows could definitely do with upgrade or repair, presume it is on the agenda. Public areas very good, service excellent. Breakfast very good and very attentive staff. A little disappointed with the Turf bar/Bistro, so ate away from hotel one night. It is too much like a pub than Bistro, bit glumly atmosphere.There was a function on our first night, in the room directly below us, but you could hardly hear anything just a dull background hum, would not put us off staying again. Would stay there again but not at full rate!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garygilberdyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for your review - windows are on the agenda! When booking again, please call the Hotel direct or check our website for the very best rates and special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Nice, clean and comfortable hotel in a central location in Ripon. Staff were friendly and breakfast very good. On the other side, the shower was pretty pathetic and the decoration needs updating.
On the whole a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for your review and sorry you had a problem with the Mira shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
18.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,498 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ripon Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Property: The Ripon Spa Hotel
Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing