We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value offer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ripon Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed for two nights on special offer. Booked the hotel solely because they accepted dogs(plenty of other dog owners there). Room very good and comfortable, of the period not corporate style. Windows could definitely do with upgrade or repair, presume it is on the agenda. Public areas very good, service excellent. Breakfast very good and very attentive staff. A little disappointed with the Turf bar/Bistro, so ate away from hotel one night. It is too much like a pub than Bistro, bit glumly atmosphere.There was a function on our first night, in the room directly below us, but you could hardly hear anything just a dull background hum, would not put us off staying again. Would stay there again but not at full rate!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garygilberdyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thanks for your review - windows are on the agenda! When booking again, please call the Hotel direct or check our website for the very best rates and special offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 791 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Nice, clean and comfortable hotel in a central location in Ripon. Staff were friendly and breakfast very good. On the other side, the shower was pretty pathetic and the decoration needs updating.
On the whole a good stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thanks for your review and sorry you had a problem with the Mira shower.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I (and the dog!) spent a night at the Ripon Spa Hotel in early January. As well as taking pets, the reason we selected the hotel was the location was very close to Fountains Abbey/Studley Royal as well as Pateley Bridge and North Yorkshire Dales. We benefitted from fine weather which was a bonus (it snowed the following weeks).

We had selected the hotel from a web site off of the National Trust web site and went for an offer on a superior room with bed and breakfast.

The hotel is stands on its own grounds fronted by the main road to Patelet Bridge just five minutes walk from Ripon. On arrival we were warmly greeted and from that moment on we were made to feel quite welcome. They are particularly dog friendly and we soon learned that the owner also has a pet dog.

We could access most areas with the dog expect the Pub/restaurant and Breakfast area.

The superior room was large (double plus twin) and suitably furnished. The bathroom had been updated and felt modern.

The views over the grounds were nice and we had a corner room which meant that we had windows on two sides.

Opposite the hotel is a small park with the town centre a small walk. During the evening time we could have eaten at numerous places and we didn't find the town centre busy even for a Saturday. We decided to eat in the hotel and were not disappointed.

On our walk around the town centre we found plenty of pubs but would recommend the One Eyed Rat - especially for the wide selection of real ale beers and reasonable prices. Also a place were you can take the pooch.

The only negative comment would be too the windows which were steel frame and no double glazing but that said this was a minor point.

In summary, with trips and walks to Studley Royal and Pateley Bridge we found the Ripon Spa Hotel a great base for our weekend and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the grounds are away from the road side and overlook the grounds. I suspect that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgdhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Ripon Spa Hotel and for posting your review. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just 1 night. Arrived early and although the room wasn't ready it was no problem for us to park up and leave our bags securely at reception until we returned. The receptionist gave us some handy advice about Ripon and where to go and things of interest, which was great as we had not been there before. Our room had recently been refurbished and was very comfortable and warm. Breakfast was tasty but the room was so quiet no one seemed to want to speak, a bit of background music would have helped to create a more conversation inducing atmosphere I feel. All in all a pleasant stay. Thanks Ripon Spa.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeordieBikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very comfortable rooms. Everyone was extremely friendly. The breakfast served was absolutely excellent. The Turf Bar in the hotel is a delight as well! Lovely to be in the middle of Ripon but be surrounded by a peaceful garden.

Room Tip: A room looking out over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thanks for your review, we are very lucky to be so near to the centre of town and have 7 acres of gardens and croquet lawns!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

what a very special new years eve dinner dance because
1. the food was to die for with the rarest beef ive ever had..you could have cut it with a plastic knife
2. Daniel, tehemuiscian was awesome; over 6 hours of performing solo but we got crooner concert, smoochy lovers dances, manic disco music and all in between! our party were 70 down to 22 and you couldnt keep any of us off the dance floor
3. the staff are SO nice and helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judeYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you, glad to hear you enjoyed our New Year's Eve gala night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for the New Year Package plus an extra night, as we have done for the past few years. It was good to be greeted by name by the Receptionist when we arrived and to learn that she had arranged for us to sit near people we met last year. Our usual room was good but we noticed many 'cutbacks' with the Gala Dinner. The entertainer was good, but not as good as the live bands plus disco in past years. Also, Starter and Main had to be pre-ordered and my melon had a ball of cream and not a ginger mousse which was a disappointment. (Either that or the Chef was light-handed on the ginger!) Breakfasts at Ripon Spa are AMAZING. All food is of high quality and well cooked and it's probably the best breakfast anywhere. However, our big disappointment was having to eat in the Turf Bar on New Year's Day. We can have a pub meal any time and the attraction of Ripon is eating in the elegant dining room. Because of these cutbacks, for the first time ever we have not made a provisional reservation for next year and may consider going elsewhere.

Room Tip: If going for New Year avoid one over the Ballroom if you don't want to stay up until 2.00am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessaPolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

So sorry to have disappointed you. We felt a change of format for the gala dinner was overdue and these changes were not designed as "cut back" measures. We would love to have you back again this year and will be in touch by email.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.4 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
478 reviews
8.0 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
858 reviews
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
271 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ripon Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: $76 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing