We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable trip with a friendly hotel and lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ripon Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I (and the dog!) spent a night at the Ripon Spa Hotel in early January. As well as taking pets, the reason we selected the hotel was the location was very close to Fountains Abbey/Studley Royal as well as Pateley Bridge and North Yorkshire Dales. We benefitted from fine weather which was a bonus (it snowed the following weeks).

We had selected the hotel from a web site off of the National Trust web site and went for an offer on a superior room with bed and breakfast.

The hotel is stands on its own grounds fronted by the main road to Patelet Bridge just five minutes walk from Ripon. On arrival we were warmly greeted and from that moment on we were made to feel quite welcome. They are particularly dog friendly and we soon learned that the owner also has a pet dog.

We could access most areas with the dog expect the Pub/restaurant and Breakfast area.

The superior room was large (double plus twin) and suitably furnished. The bathroom had been updated and felt modern.

The views over the grounds were nice and we had a corner room which meant that we had windows on two sides.

Opposite the hotel is a small park with the town centre a small walk. During the evening time we could have eaten at numerous places and we didn't find the town centre busy even for a Saturday. We decided to eat in the hotel and were not disappointed.

On our walk around the town centre we found plenty of pubs but would recommend the One Eyed Rat - especially for the wide selection of real ale beers and reasonable prices. Also a place were you can take the pooch.

The only negative comment would be too the windows which were steel frame and no double glazing but that said this was a minor point.

In summary, with trips and walks to Studley Royal and Pateley Bridge we found the Ripon Spa Hotel a great base for our weekend and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the grounds are away from the road side and overlook the grounds. I suspect that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgdhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Ripon Spa Hotel and for posting your review. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 793 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just 1 night. Arrived early and although the room wasn't ready it was no problem for us to park up and leave our bags securely at reception until we returned. The receptionist gave us some handy advice about Ripon and where to go and things of interest, which was great as we had not been there before. Our room had recently been refurbished and was very comfortable and warm. Breakfast was tasty but the room was so quiet no one seemed to want to speak, a bit of background music would have helped to create a more conversation inducing atmosphere I feel. All in all a pleasant stay. Thanks Ripon Spa.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeordieBikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very comfortable rooms. Everyone was extremely friendly. The breakfast served was absolutely excellent. The Turf Bar in the hotel is a delight as well! Lovely to be in the middle of Ripon but be surrounded by a peaceful garden.

Room Tip: A room looking out over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thanks for your review, we are very lucky to be so near to the centre of town and have 7 acres of gardens and croquet lawns!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

what a very special new years eve dinner dance because
1. the food was to die for with the rarest beef ive ever had..you could have cut it with a plastic knife
2. Daniel, tehemuiscian was awesome; over 6 hours of performing solo but we got crooner concert, smoochy lovers dances, manic disco music and all in between! our party were 70 down to 22 and you couldnt keep any of us off the dance floor
3. the staff are SO nice and helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judeYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you, glad to hear you enjoyed our New Year's Eve gala night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for the New Year Package plus an extra night, as we have done for the past few years. It was good to be greeted by name by the Receptionist when we arrived and to learn that she had arranged for us to sit near people we met last year. Our usual room was good but we noticed many 'cutbacks' with the Gala Dinner. The entertainer was good, but not as good as the live bands plus disco in past years. Also, Starter and Main had to be pre-ordered and my melon had a ball of cream and not a ginger mousse which was a disappointment. (Either that or the Chef was light-handed on the ginger!) Breakfasts at Ripon Spa are AMAZING. All food is of high quality and well cooked and it's probably the best breakfast anywhere. However, our big disappointment was having to eat in the Turf Bar on New Year's Day. We can have a pub meal any time and the attraction of Ripon is eating in the elegant dining room. Because of these cutbacks, for the first time ever we have not made a provisional reservation for next year and may consider going elsewhere.

Room Tip: If going for New Year avoid one over the Ballroom if you don't want to stay up until 2.00am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessaPolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

So sorry to have disappointed you. We felt a change of format for the gala dinner was overdue and these changes were not designed as "cut back" measures. We would love to have you back again this year and will be in touch by email.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The overall experience here was very good with brilliant food in the tavern in the evening. One small factor to take into consideration when staying on the ground floor room 71 overlooks some extractor fans.

These were switched off on request until 8am but the small negatives are the room looked tired, one curtain not fully on its rail, mentioned this to reception but my chandler light had three different bulbs.

In general the place still has some reminder of its Best Western past including on some room signs. If you have to get a downstairs room for accessibility you may get one of the last unrefurbished rooms with pink walls, the bath is rather small but the bathroom did feel slightly warm and just feeling tired.

On the positive it's a very nice building with superb restaurant at The Tavern with very friendly staff. The breakfast was nice but in my opinion could offer something like hash browns if people don't want a tomato and the temperature could have been a bit better but that's the only negative and that's when one of the first rooms in does ask can it be improved.

It just feels like to me people who have a downstairs room don't get the such nice quality refurbished rooms if you can manage a small lift you may be better off upstairs with nicer refurbished rooms. There's also the fact you are near the extractors or fans related to the air conditioning. The speed of the free wifi was superb on the download but slow on uploads.

Small tip: if you are downstairs ask for a jug for the water coolers upstairs, for people not use to soft water it can leave an odd taste in the mouth if you use tap water. Also if you are upstairs get water from the coolers it's far better water.

The overall experience was really good but slightly let down on the unrefurbished ground floor rooms, this as I've said if you have to be downstairs is the downside but I hope these will be refurbished to the same standard and improved bathrooms, why ground floor don't get bath mats when some upstairs rooms do is an odd question.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thanks for your review. Our rooms are all individual in size and decor, and usually the ground floor bedrooms prove to be popular with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked a couple of nights away at this hotel for the New Year's Eve Gala Dinner and from arriving to departing we had a wonderful experience. The room was spacious and comfortable with tea/coffee making facility in the room with biscuits. No matter which of the lounges or bars we frequented the roaring fires warmed your cockles and the staff were always on hand to cater for every need. The food was exceptional throughout, including the meals in the Turf Bar and breakfasts and especially the Gala Dinner, each course a delight. The whole New Year's Eve experience was a treat, we loved it, from the Top Hats to the flying balloons to the entertainment by Daniel Sings who performed professionally for the whole evening. Thanks to every member of staff for making our stay such a memorable one.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenTopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thanks for your review, it was a very good night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.4 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
479 reviews
8 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
864 reviews
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
292 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ripon Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: $77 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing